The Chaucer Awards 2013 for Historical Fiction First Place Category Winners – 2016-12-17T12:15:08+00:00

EDITOR’S NOTE: This list will be updated on a daily basis until the Official List of The Chaucer Awards for Historical Fiction First Place Category Titles and their Authors is published and posted.

Geoffrey-Chaucer-9245691-1-402The Chaucer Awards recognize emerging new talent and outstanding works in the genre of Historical Fiction Novels.


Chanticleer Book Reviews is honored to announce the First Place Category Winners for the Chaucer Awards 2013, the Historical Fiction Genre Division of the Chanticleer Blue Ribbon Award Writing Competitions.

The 1st Place Category winners have completed another four rounds of judging. These works have been read cover-to-cover and have garnered the most votes for the category into which the work was entered.

First Place Category Winners for the Chaucer Awards 2013 are:

Adventure/Young Adult:  I, Walter by Mike Hartner

Western:  Crossing Purgatory by Gary Schanbacher

20th Century:  Deal with the Devil by J. Gunner Grey

Nordic History:   The Jossing Affair by J.L.Oakley

Regency:  Traitor’s Gate by David Chacko & Alexander Kulscar

This is an incomplete listing as of 12/28/2013. 

First Place Category winners of the Chaucer Awards 2013 will be compete for Overall Best Book for Chaucer 2013 Awards for Historical Fiction.

1st Place Overall Genre winners will then compete for the position of Chanticleer Book Reviews Grand Prize 2013 Blue Ribbon for Best Book.

Chanticleer Book Reviews Best Books will be announced and winners will receive their awards at the CBR Banquet in Sept. 20th 2014.

The deadline for submitting entries to the Chaucer Awards 2013 was June 30, 2013, midnight.

The Official List of Finalists for the Chaucer Awards was posted on Oct. 1, 2013.

We are now accepting submissions to the Chaucer Awards 2014 writing competition.  Enter Here

Again, congratulations to all the authors whose work made it into the Official Chaucer Awards 2013 Finalists shortlist.

Chanticleer Book Reviews & Media retains the right to not declare “default winners.” Winning works are decided upon merit only. Please visit our Contest Details page for more information about our writing contest guidelines.

CBR’s rigorous writing competition standards are why literary agencies seek out our winning manuscripts and self-published novels. Our high standards are also why our reviews are trusted among booksellers and book distributors.

Please do not hesitate to contact about any questions, concerns, or suggestions about CBR writing competitions. Your input is important to us.

Privacy Preference Center

Strictly Necessary

These cookies are required for the site to operate properly



These cookies allow us to optimize the site for a better user experience.


Other Cookies

These are third party cookies that our partners add to the site.


Close your account?

Your account will be closed and all data will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered. Are you sure?

Are you sure?

By disagreeing you will no longer have access to our site and will be logged out.