Chanticleer Authors Conference April 17th-19th 2020

For those of you who have attended the Chanticleer Authors Conference (CAC) and the Chanticleer Int’l Book Awards  (CIBA) Ceremony and Banquet in the past, you know that we tend to do things differently.

CAC 20 and the 2019 CIBA Banquet and Ceremony are typically held in April at the lovely Hotel Bellwether, Bellingham, Wash. This year’s was scheduled to be held on April 16-19, 2020. Due to the COVID-19 Pandemic, we postponed CAC20 until September 3-6, 2020 at the Hotel Bellwether.

We were all systems GO until the recent spike (the last weekend of June 2020) in the Covid-19 virus in the USA. Here in Bellingham, Wash. we are still in Phase 2 of reopening with groups limited to 5 individuals. Phase 3 would have allowed us to have groups up to 50 individuals. So in the interest of health and safety of Chanticleerians who hail from across the globe and from the emails and feedback that we received, we believe that it would the prudent course of action to move the conference to a VIRTUAL conference with as many LIVE sessions as possible.

And since the conference and awards are now VIRTUAL, we decided not to have it on Labor Day weekend for the convenience of the Attendees, Presenters, and the Chanticleer Team.

CAC 20 will be held starting on TUESDAY, September 8th through SUNDAY, September 13, 2020.

The 2019 CEREMONIES SCHEDULE is LISTED BELOW! 

The Chanticleer Book Awards Ceremony will be held in multiple VIRTUAL Ceremonies through out the Six Days. 

A Week to Remember…and Recognition in the Chanticleer Reviews quarterly print magazine.

Ribbons

All Semi-Finalists will be recognized in the SPRING/SUMMER Chanticleer Magazine and all in attendance of CAC 20 will be recognized throughout the CIBA Ceremonies.

All FINALISTS will be recognized in the 2020 FALL Issue of the Chanticleer Reviews magazine.

All First Place and Grand Prize winners will be recognized in the WINTER Issue of the Chanticleer Reviews magazine.

2019 VIRTUAL CEREMONIES at CAC 20

First Rounds will recognize the Finalists per Division and announce the First Place Category Award Winners.

The Grand Prize Winners for each Division and the OVERALL Grand Prize Winner will be announced on Sunday, September 13th at 4 p.m. PST.

FIRST PLACE CATEGORY ROUNDS of the 2019 CIBAs

Tuesday, September 8, 2020 at 4 p.m. PST LIVE –

  • CYGNUS Book Awards for Science Fiction – Presenter:  TBD
  • OZMA Book Awards for Fantasy Fiction – Presenter:  TBD
  • PARANORMAL Book Awards for Supernatural Fiction – Presenter: TBD

Wednesday, September 9, 2020 at 4 p.m. PST LIVE

  • DANTE ROSSETTI Book Awards for YA Fiction – Presenter:
  • GERTRUDE WARNER Book Awards for Middle-Grade Readers – Presenter: TBD
  • LITTLE PEEPS for Early Readers – Presenter: TBD

Thursday, September 10, 2020 at 4 p.m. PST LIVE

  • LARAMIE Book Awards for Americana Fiction – Presenter: TBD
  • CHAUCER Book Awards for pre-1750s Historical Fiction – Presenter:  TBD
  • GOETHE Book Awards for post-1750s Historical Fiction – Presenter: TBD
  • NELLIE BLY Book Awards for Investigative and Long Form Journalism Non-Fiction: TBD

Friday, September 11, 2020 at 4 p.m. PST LIVE

  • M&M Book Awards for Mystery & Mayhem Novels – Presenter: TBD
  • CLUE Book Awards for Suspense & Thrillers Novels – Presenter: TBD
  • GLOBAL THRILLERS for High Stakes Suspense Thrillers – Presenter: TBD

Saturday, September 12, 2020 at 4 p.m. PST LIVE

  • CHATELAINE Book Awards for Romantic Fiction – Presenter: TBD
  • SOMERSET BOOK Awards for Contemporary, Literary, and Satire Fiction – Presenter: TBD
  • JOURNEY Book Awards for Memoir and Narrative Non-Fiction – Presenter: TBD
  • I & I Book Awards for Instruction and Insight Non-Fiction – Presenter: TBD

The CIBAs GRAND PRIZE ROUNDS  (Dress to Impress!)

Sunday, September 13, 2020 at 4 p.m. PST LIVE

  • CYGNUS
  • OZMA
  • PARANORMAL
  • DANTE ROSSETTI
  • GERTRUDE WARNER
  • LITTLE PEEPS
  • LARAMIE
  • CHAUCER
  • GOETHE
  • NELLIE BLY
  • MYSTERY & MAYHEM
  • CLUE
  • GLOBAL THRILLER
  • CHATELAINE
  • SOMERSET
  • JOURNEY
  • INSTRUCTION and INSIGHT

And we will culminate the 2019 CIBA Ceremonies with announcing the 2019 OVERALL GRAND PRIZE for Best Book!

Then Seventeen Genre Grand Prize Book Award Winners will be announced and, then the Overall Chanticleer Reviews Grand Prize Award Winner will be announced. Grand Prize winners are chosen from among the first place category winners.

Get dressed up, and make your ceremony a night to remember!

Have your favorite bubbly ready! Appetizers at the Ready! 

And Cheer for your favorites! 

The Coveted Chanticleer Blue Ribbons will be mailed out starting on September 21, 2020.


All 2019 First Place Category Book Award Winners will be announced. Those in attendance will receive their ribbons and  recognized on stage at the CIBA Banquet and Ceremony.

 Thank you and your entire team for the experience of a lifetime. Cheers, J.I. Rogers

...And the Awards Dinner! I can’t say enough about it. It was fantastic. Like attending the Oscars. Everything – all weekend – was so well done and thought out and ran so smoothly, you’d think Chanticleer had an army of 100 working for them. All of this against a beautiful water view setting in Bellingham, Washington. By far, the most fun I’ve ever had at a conference, and considering all the sessions, lunches, and dinners, etc., a great value. Thank you! Elaine Williams Crockett

10661854_708172539268214_2919133717706759872_o (1)

PREVIOUS LIVE CIBA Ceremonies! We look forward to our next LIVE Event! 

2019 CIBAs will be held VIRTUALLY Sept. 8 – 13, 2020 due to the Coronavirus Epidemic of 2020.

Nothing is better than being called up on stage to accept you blue ribbon for winning first place in a genre category while a sea of authors applauds your achievement–except perhaps being in the audience when your name is announced as a Grand Prize Winner.

Jesikah Sundin Winning Reaction Prize 2014Authors from around the world will be honored at our gala and awards banquet. Will you be one of them?
If you have been chosen as a semifinalist, you owe it to yourself to be there so that you can celebrate your victory properly, in the company of your peers where you can smile, wave and have your photo taken with your ribbon and the glow of success beaming on your face.

Tickets are available as part of your Chanticleer Authors Conference package. Guest Tickets are available for attendees who wish to bring friends and family, just send us an email once you register. Winner or spectator, everyone loves being a part of this extravaganza of the year’s best books.

What are you waiting for?

Register Today to join us!

Originally Scheduled — The 2019 CIBA Ceremony will be VIRTUAL due to COVID-19. 

We look forward to the next time that we can gather in person and cheer each other on!