Chanticleer Writing Contests and Book Awards2018-11-03T14:44:29+00:00

Chanticleer Writing Contest Calendar at a Glance

Submission Deadline for the I & I Non-fiction Book Awards is December 31, 2018.

If you are looking for the Chanticleer NON-FICTION Book Awards information, please click here. 

Boost your discoverability, increase book sales, and grow your readership by winning a writing competition. In today’s crowded book market it is imperative that you find ways to make your book stand out from the rest and sell more — contests are a great place to start!

Be sure to enter your manuscript or published book prior to the submission deadline for each genre’s competition.

Cygnus Awards

Science Fiction
April 30, 2019
Enter Here

Global Thriller Fiction Award

Global Thriller
November 30, 2018
Enter Here

Journey Awards for Narrative Non-Fiction

Narrative Non-Fiction
April 30, 2019
Enter Here

Mystery and Mayhem

Mystery and Mayhem
April 30, 2019
Enter Here

Gertrude Warner Awards for Middle Grade Fiction

Middle Grade Novels
May 31, 2019
Enter Here

Dante Rossetti Awards for Young Adult Fiction

Young Adult Novels
May 31, 2019
Enter Here

Chaucer Writing Awards

Early Historical Fiction
June 30, 2019
Enter Here

Goethe Writing Awards

Late Historical Fiction
June 30, 2019
Enter Here

laramie awards

Western/Pioneer /Civil War
July 31, 2019
Enter Here

 

Chatelaine awards

Romance Fiction
August 31, 2019
Enter Here

clue awards

Thriller/Suspense
September 30, 2019
Enter Here

Childrens Book Awards

Early Readers
September 30, 2019
Enter Here

Ozma Awards

Fantasy Fiction
October 31, 2019
Enter Here

paranormal awards

Paranormal
October 31, 2019
Enter Here

somerset awards

Literary/Satire/Contemporary
November 30, 2018
Enter Here

Overall Chanticleer Best Book Award Annual Grand Prize $1,000.00

More than $30,000 in cash and prizes awarded annually! 

And no, you do NOT have to be present to win! But, it is a lot more fun!

OZMA First Place Category Winner DARK SEA (manuscript) by Gary J. Hurtubise 

So as it turned out, I was unable to make it out to Bellingham, Washington to attend the 2016 Ozma Awards Ceremony and Chanticleer Author’s Conference (life and stuff got in the way, sadly). As such, I figured that my lack of attendance would negate any chance I had of winning (not being too sure how these types of awards work…).

Glumly, I watched the first weekend of April go by, waving my chance at winning goodbye. And forgot about the whole thing……(Silly me!)

On a whim, I checked out the Chanticleer website tonight and came across this little bit of news: Dark Sea (manuscript) won an OZMA First Place Category ribbon!

How about that?!

The First In Category award winners are to receive a complimentary book review from Chanticleer, as well as a bunch of other promotional items. And now I can say that my (as of yet unpublished) novel is an award winner! Priceless. 😀

Thank you to Chanticleer Book Reviews for providing a platform for me to have my manuscript reviewed. I’m feeling that much closer to turning Darksea into a real book – and me into a real author! (Reject me now, literary agents!!)

Congratulations to Christopher, Elisabeth, Vijay, Raven, Nicole and Murray for their category wins, and especially to Vijay, for also winning the Ozma Grand Prize!

Spread the word, eh? 😉  Gary Hurtubise, OZMA Awards, Winner

 

Chanticleer writing competitions are challenging but rewarding

  • Winning and placing in a Chanticleer writing contest will help promote your work and your author platform.
  • Gives you something to post about, something to encourage interactions from followers as they congratulate you and re-share your accomplishments.
  • Win badges for your website, and reviews to add to your book cover design, to help your book stand out when readers are making that all important purchasing decision.
  • Show potential readers, agents, publishers that your book has passed a test of quality and readability that can help your book jump off the shelves at bookstores and increase book sales or open doors to agents and publishers.
  • Contest submission deadlines help you meet your deadlines for your publishing goals.
  • Finalists and winners get active promotion from Chanticleer across our social media platforms and our high traffic website, as well as our mail list of thousands.
  • Join our Chanticleer family – form relationships and bonds with other winners, especially if you attend our Chanticleer Authors Conference and Awards Gala where winners gather from all over the world.
  • Just plain have fun!

Laura Wolfe, author of BARN SHADOWS 

 I discovered Barn Shadows has been shortlisted in the Chanticleer Paranormal Book Awards! It was a thrilling boost to learn that my little book made it through the slush pile and onto the shortlist. Even if it doesn’t win first place (the winner will be announced on April 21st), the fact that it made it onto the shortlist of twelve books provided me with much-needed validation. Additionally, letting potential readers know that a book has been nominated gives an author something new to promote and might encourage readers to choose one book over another. With over 2,000,000 books published each year, every advantage counts…These awards do more than just boost an author’s ego. They provide validation, encouragement, recognition, and differentiation in an industry that is so often full of negativity and rejection. I encourage other indie authors to enter their books in whatever writing competition is appropriate for them.

 

Book Awards for both novels and short fiction

Winning a book award is an effective way to distinguish your work in the eyes of readers, agents, and publishers.

What are you waiting for?

Enter today for your chance to add a book award to your marketing toolkit.

Enter Now

Your book could be a winner!

Book Awards help your book get discovered!

Boost discovery and boost your sales. We want to see authors succeed and sell more books.

Plus, you can win cash and prizes!

Approximately $30,000 in cash, prizes, and promotions! The Fine Print. & Projected announcement dates.

~$1000 for one lucky Overall Grand Prize Winner
~$28,980 in reviews and promotional opportunites awarded to FIRST PLACE Category Winners

The Chanticleer Prize Package includes:

  • A Prize Ribbon to use in promotion at book signings and book festivals
  • Digital Badges for display on your website or incorporation into book covers
  • Book stickers to identify your print books to book store shoppers as they browse

In addition to all the ribbons and badges and cash awards we will be showering you with, you will also receive a powerful promotional boost from Chanticleer Reviews, with:

  • Your name and book title announced on our high traffic website and email list of thousands at several stages, the farther you go in the competition, the more promotion you will get
  • Corresponding social media announcements of your contest advancements
  • Corresponding newsletter announcements to our sizable email list
  • Your winning title’s review published in our Chanticleer Reviews Magazine
  • Your book may also receive trade show representation as we show off our winners at conferences and trade shows across the US and Internationally. We like to show off our winners in as many ways as we can.
  • Your book may also be seen and noticed by agents, publishers, Hollywood producers, and others within the publishing and entertainment industry who see our contests as a way to spot new and upcoming talent and original story ideas
  • Prizes may also include donations from contest sponsors.

Our Contest Genres:

  • The Chatelaine Awards for Romance and Romantic Fiction
  • The Laramie Awards for Western, Pioneer & Civil War, North American Historical Fiction
  • The Chaucer Awards for Early Period Historical Fiction: Pre-historic, Ancient, Dark Ages, Medieval, Renaissance, and World History
  • The Goethe Awards for Late Period Historical Fiction: Regency, Victorian, 18th Century, 19th Century, 20th Century, turn of the century, and World History
  • The Somerset Awards for Contemporary, Literary & General Fiction including adventure, magic realism, and women’s fiction
  • The Clue Awards for Thriller and Suspense Novels: Crime, Police Procedural, Medical Procedural, Legal Procedural, detective, private eye, spy, espionage
  • The Mystery & Mayhem Awards (M&Ms) for Cozy Mystery Novels including amateur sleuth, adventure, caper, romantic suspense and more
  • The Global Thriller Awards 
  • The Little Peeps Awards for children’s literature and storybooks
  • The Gertrude Warner Middle-Grade Fiction Awards
  • The Dante Rossetti Awards for Young Adult Fiction including contemporary, historical, dystopian, edgy, urban, and multiple sub-genres
  • The Cygnus Awards for Science Fiction, Speculative Fiction, Time Travel Novels, Space Opera and more
  • The Ozma Awards for Fantasy, Steampunk, Alternate World/History, Myth, Magic, Heroes, Villains, Fables, Fairy Tales, Legends
  • The Paranormal Awards for Vampire, Werewolf, super powers, occult, and extra sensory perception
  • The Journey Awards for Narrative Non-Fiction
  • Non-Fiction Awards for How-To, Self-Help, Instruction, and Insight.

You could be an award winning author.

Now that is something to CROW about!

Enter Now

For more information, please visit our Prizes page. We invite you to read our Terms and Conditions and Submission Guidelines.

As always, please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions, concerns, or suggestions at Info@ChantiReviews.com. We promise to reply — it may take a few days, but we will reply!