gertrude warner awards 2015The GERTRUDE WARNER  Writing Competition recognizes emerging new talent and outstanding works in the genre of  Middle Grade Chapter Books. The GERTRUDE WARNER  Awards is a division of Chanticleer International Writing Competitions.

More than $30,000.00 dollars worth of cash and prizes will be awarded to Chanticleer Book Reviews 2016 writing competition winners!

The Gertrude Warner Awards FIRST IN CATEGORY sub-genres  are:  Contemporary Middle Grade, Science Fiction and/or Fantasy, Mysteries, Historical, and Adventure.

The following titles will compete for the FIRST IN CATEGORY Positions and Book Awards Packages.

NOTE: This is the Official List of the Warner 2016 Finalists.

The Finalists Authors and Titles of Works that have made it to the Short-list of the Gertrude Warner Middle Grade Chapter Book 2016 Writing Contest are:

Life on Base: Quantico Cave by Tom and Nancy Wise

Zephyr Daniels and the Field Trip of Screams  by Kimberly Robello

Test of Time by Robert McCauley

Zoe and the Cat from Mars by Robert Karr

Crushing the Red Flowers by Jennifer Voigt Kaplan

The Train  from Outerspace  by  Alan Sproles and Lizanne Southgate

Billy Bediver in the Quest for the Dragon Queen   by Alan Sproles

Ice-Bear Island  by Lizzi Wolf

The Shadow of the Unicorn II: The Deception by Suzanne de Montigny

The Shrinking Stone  by Sue Ann Culp

I, Mary by Mike Hartner

The Mystery of Hollow Inn by Tara Ellis

The Ranatanland Tales  by Lloyd Chiasson, Jr.

EYTHYR by Mary Follin

Amelia Moss and the Secret Islands Agency by Kimberly Clair

Saddle Up  by Donna Patton and Emily Chase Smith

 After the Horizon  by Ben Conlon

Life on the Farm by Heather Gardam

Year of the Rahku Rabbit – Training the Mage by D.A. Cave

Log of the Worst Pirate in the Known World by  Nick Korolev

Brooklyn Bat Boy: A Story of the 1947 Season that Changed Baseball Forever by Geoff Griffin

The Treasure of Malaga Cove  by John Gilgren

Almost Impossible by Beth Bacon

The Gertrude Warner 2016 Finalists will compete for the Gertrude Warner First In Category Positions, which consists of Seven Judging Rounds.  First Place Category Award winners will automatically be entered into the Gertrude Warner Middle Grade Chapter Books GRAND PRIZE AWARD competition, which has a cash prize purse of $200.  The CBR Grand Prize Genre Winners will compete for the CBR Overall Grand Prize for Best Book and its $1,000 purse.

All First In Category Book Award Winners will receive high visibility along with special badges to wear during the Chanticleer Authors Conference and Awards Gala.

First In Category winners will compete for the Gertrude Warner Awards Grand Prize Award for the $200 purse and the Gertrude Warner  Grand Prize Ribbon and badges.

  • Fifteen genre Grand Prize winning titles will compete for the $1,000 purse for CBR Best Book and Overall Grand Prize.
  • A coveted Chanticleer Book Review valued at $345 dollars U.S. CBR reviews will be published in the Chanticleer Reviews magazine in chronological order as to posting.
  • A CBR Blue Ribbon to use in promotion at book signings and book festivals
  • Digital book award stickers for on-line promotion
  • Adhesive book stickers
  • Shelf-talkers and other promotional items
  • Promotion in print and on-line media
  • Review of book distributed to on-line sites and printed media publications
  • Review, cover art, and author synopsis listed in CBR’s newsletter
  • Default First in Category winners will not be declared. Contests are based on merit and writing craft in all of the Chanticleer Writing Competitions.

As always, please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions, concerns, or suggestions at 

Good Luck to all of the 2016 Gertrude Warner Finalists as they compete for the coveted First Place Category  positions.

First In Category announcements will be made in our social media postings as the results come in. The 2016 First In Category Winners will be recognized at the 2017 Chanticleer Annual Awards Gala and Banquet.

The Gertrude Warner Grand Prize Winner will be announced at the April 1st, 2017 Chanticleer Writing Contests Annual Awards Gala, which takes place on the last evening of the Chanticleer Authors Conference that will be held in Bellingham, Wash. 

We are now accepting submissions into the 2017 Gertrude Warner Awards writing competition. The deadline for 2016 submissions was  May 31st, 2016. We are now accepting submissions into the 2017 Gertrude Warner Children’s Chapter Book writing competition. Please click here for more information.