Romance Fiction AwardThe CHATELAINE Writing Competition Book Awards recognize emerging new talent and outstanding works in the genres of  Romantic Fiction and Women’s Fiction. The Chatelaine Awards is a division of Chanticleer International Novel Writing Competitions.

More than $30,000.00 dollars worth of cash and prizes will be awarded to Chanticleer Book Reviews 2016 writing competition winners at the Chanticleer Authors Conference April 1, 2017!

The Chatelaine Awards FIRST IN CATEGORY sub-genres  are:

  • Contemporary Romance
  • Historical Romance
  • Adventure & Suspense
  • Romantic Steamy/Sensual (Not Erotic)
  • Inspirational/Restorative

The following titles will compete for the Semi-Finalists positions. The Semi-Finalists will compete FIRST IN CATEGORY Positions and Book Awards Packages.

This is the OFFICIAL FINALIST POSTING  of the 2016 CHATELAINE Novel Writing Competition & Book Awards.

  • M A Clarke Scott – The Art of Enchantment
  • Darby Karchut – Stone’s Heart
  • Sabra Brown Steinsiek – ‘Til the End of Time #4
  • B. K. Smith – Sands Point: Memoirs of a Money Trader
  • La Kayshal – The Lost Crown
  • Nicola Italia – Love in the Valley of the Kings
  • Linda Patrick – Angels Unawares
  • Vicki Volden – Both
  • Judah Knight – The Long Way Home
  • M A Clarke Scott – Reconcilable Differences
  • Kate Vale – Where This Goes
  • F. E. Greene – The Never List (Love Across Londons)
  • Elise K. Ackers – One For the Road
  • Lucy Carol – Stiff Competition
  • Karen Fitzpatrick – After the Rain
  • Mike Hartner – I, James
  • Diana Forbes – Mistress Suffragette
  • Rebecca Lochlann – The Sixth Labyrinth
  • Blanche Mathes – Dead Wrong
  • Kathrin Murphy – Gentlemen, Gigolos & Gelato
  • Nicole Evelina – Been Searching for You
  • Mira West – Sacrificial Sins
  • Lucinda Brant – Dair Devil: A Georgian Historical Romance #2
  • Toby Neal – Somewhere in St. Thomas #2
  • Candace Sams – Galactic Hearts
  • Laura W. Chance – To Cornwall, with Love
  • Kate James – When the Right One Comes Along #2
  • Nate Gagon – Breaking Dad
  • Kate James – When I Found You (K-9 Trilogy) 
  • P. A. Estelle – Hannah: Bride of Iowa
  • Kate James – A Child’s Christmas
  • Kate James – The Truth About Hope
  • Kate James – When Love Matters Most
  • Ashlinn Craven – Building Mr. Darcy 
  • Jayne Castel – The Breaking Dawn
  • Nina Romano – In America
  • Gail Avery Halverson – The Boundary Stone
  • Dorothy Wiley – The Beauty of Love
  • Susan Boles – Fated Love
  • K.L. Kreig – Luke’s Absolution
  • P.A. Estelle – Hannah: Bride of Iowa
  • Regan Walker – The Refuge: An Inspirational Novel of Scotland
  • Kate James – The Truth About Hope
  • Kate James – When Love Matters Most
  • Phillip Buchanon – Icing on Your Fingertips
  • Gillian Galbraith – Kismba
  • Mysty McPartland – The Laird’s Kidnapped Bride
  • Candace Sams – Galactic Hearts
  • Kate James – A Child’s Christmas
  • Gillian M. Mercurio –Kisimba

This list is INCOMPLETE as of January 24, 2017. Please check back often until we post that all the results are in.

IF your name is on this list, please follow us on Twitter (@ChantiReviews)  and LIKE and Comment on our Facebook page so that we can tag you in our announcements.

This list is the Official Posting of the 2016 Chatelaine Finalists. We will begin announcing the 2016 Chatelaine First Place Category Winners in 2017. Good luck to all in one of our most competitive novel competitions!

The Chatelaine  Finalists will compete for the Chatelaine Awards First In Category Positions, which consists of Four Judging Rounds.  First Place Category Book Award winners will automatically be entered into the Chatelaine GRAND PRIZE AWARD competition, which has a cash prize of $200 or $500 dollars in editorial services. The CBR Grand Prize Genre Winners will compete for the CBR Overall Grand Prize for Best Book and its $1,000 purse.   

  • All First In Category Award Winners will receive high visibility along with special badges to wear during the Chanticleer Authors Conference 2017 and Awards Gala. Register now for CAC17 to be there when your name is called!
  • First In Category winners will compete for the Chatelaine Awards Grand Prize Award for the $200 purse and the Chanticleer Grand Prize Ribbon and badges.
  • FOURTEEN genre Grand Prize winning titles will compete for the $1,000 purse for CBR Best Book and Overall Grand Prize.
  • A coveted Chanticleer Book Review valued at $345 dollars U.S. CBR reviews will be published in the Chanticleer Reviews magazine in chronological order as to posting.
  • A CBR Blue Ribbon to use in promotion at book signings and book festivals
  • Digital book award stickers for on-line promotion
  • Adhesive book stickers
  • Shelf-talkers and other promotional items
  • Promotion in print and on-line media
  • Review of book distributed to on-line sites and printed media publications
  • Review, cover art, and author synopsis listed in CBR’s newsletter
  • Default First in Category winners will not be declared. Contests are based on merit and writing craft in all of the Chanticleer Writing Competitions.

As always, please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions, concerns, or suggestions at 

Congratulations to the Finalists in this fiercely competitive contest! 

Good Luck to all of the Chatelaine Finalists as they compete for the coveted First Place Category  positions.

First In Category announcements will be made in our social media postings as the results come in.

If your name is on this list, be sure to check out: 7 Things to do if you are a finalist or winner in the Chanticleer International Writing Competitions on our Winner Circle page.

The Chatelaine Grand Prize Winner will be announced at the April 1, 2017 Chanticleer Writing Contests Annual Awards Gala, which takes place on the last evening of the Chanticleer Authors Conference that will be held in Bellingham, Wash. Register now for CAC17 to be there when your name is called and accept your blue ribbon on our stage.

We are now accepting submissions into the 2017 Chatelaine Awards writing competitions for Romantic Fiction. Enter the 2017 Chatelaine Awards Today!