FINALISTS for the 2016 SOMERSET Awards for Literary, Mainstream, and Contemporary Fiction


Mainstream Contemporary Fiction AwardsThe SOMERSET Book Awards Writing Competition recognizes emerging new talent and outstanding works in the genre of  Literary, Contemporary, and Mainstream Fiction. The SOMERSET Book Awards is a division of Chanticleer International Novel Writing Competitions.

More than $30,000.00 dollars worth of cash and prizes will be awarded to Chanticleer Book Reviews 2016 writing competition winners at the Chanticleer Authors Conference April 1, 2017!

The SOMERSET Awards FIRST IN CATEGORY sub-genres  are:

  • Contemporary Theme
  • Adventure/Suspense
  • Literary
  • Women’s Fiction
  • Satire
  • Magic Realism

OFFICIAL LISTING of the 2016 Somerset Writing Competition’s Finalists:

The following titles will compete for the Semi-Finalists SHORT LIST:

  • Bernard Mansheim – Do No Harm: Everydoctor
  • Michael Hume – The 95th Christmas
  • Patrick Garry – The Illusion
  • A. Beharry – Samson: A Tale of Strength, Struggle & Survival
  • Tony Bradshaw – A Good Boy
  • Alexander Boldizar – The Ugly
  • Debu Majumdar – Sacred River
  • Annette Harper – The Female Defender
  • Conon Parks – Empty Bottle of Smoke
  • Karen Fitzpatrick – After the Rain
  • Boo Walker – Red Mountain
  • Richard Fellinger – Made To Break Your Heart
  • Ann DeFee – Lucy’s Got a Lot of ‘Splaining to Do
  • Gail Cleare – The Taste of Air
  • Andrea McKenzie Raine – A Crowded Heart
  • Andrea McKenzie Raine – Turnstiles
  • Cricket Rohman – Saving Madelaine
  • Laurie St. Marie – Baby Mamie
  • Matt Kilby – The Road Cain Walks
  • Judith Kirscht – The Camera’s Eye
  • Steve Coleman – The Navigator II: Irish Revenge
  • Joao Cerqueira – Jesus and Magdalene
  • Janet K Shawgo – Archidamus
  • Kathleen M. Rodgers – Johnnie Come Lately
  • Kevin G. Chapman – A Legacy of One
  • Megan A. Clancy – chhori
  • Michael D. Durkota – Once in a Blue Year
  • Annaliese Darr – Believe
  • Chief John J. Mandeville – The Admiral of Bolivia
  • Chief John J. Mandeville – The Fox, Mike, Hilda, and the Green Emerald Cafe Inferno
  • Priscilla Audette – Court Appointed
  • Diana Forbes – Mistress Suffragette
  • Alberto Ambard – Columbus Day
  • Michael Aloysius O’Reilly – Proud Patrick
  • D.M. Hamblin – Once Broken
  • Ronald E. Yates – The Improbable Journeys of Billy Battles (Book 2, Finding Billy Battles Trilogy)
  • Jamie Zerndt – The Roadrunner Cafe
  • Marie Louise Joyce – In My Mother’s Time
  • Joseph Newcomer – El Camino Blue
  • Pete Westmoreland – Shiloh
  • James G. Skinner – The Galician Parallax
  • Victoria Carruthers/Zoe Zuber – Going To Bea
  • Justin Bog – Wake Me Up
  • Susan Lee Walberg – Finding Maslow
  • Phillip Buchanon – The Equipment Guys #8
  • Alma H. Bond, Ph.D. – Hillary Clinton: On the Couch
  • Patrick Garry – Blind Spots

As always, please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions, concerns, or suggestions at 

Congratulations to the Finalists!  

Good Luck to all of the Somerset Finalists as they compete for the coveted SHORT LIST  positions.

The Someret Grand Prize Winner and the First Place Category winners, and Short Listers in attendance  will be announced and recognized at the April 1, 2017 Chanticleer Writing Contests Annual Awards Gala, which takes place on the last evening of the Chanticleer Authors Conference that will be held in Bellingham, Wash. 

We are now accepting submissions into the 2017 Somerset Awards writing competitions for Paranormal Fiction. Please click here for more information or to enter the contests.


2017-02-11T11:51:58-08:00By |


  1. Sharon Anderson February 9, 2017 at 9:08 am - Reply

    Things are heating up! Congratulations to all and good luck!

  2. […] O romance Jesus and Magdalene, publicado em Portugal com o título A segunda vinda de Cristo à Terra, recebeu a medalha de prata no Feathered Quill Book Awards 2017 e foi nomeado finalista do the Somerset book awards.… […]

Leave A Comment