Thriller Suspense Fiction AwardThe CLUE Book Awards recognizes emerging new talent and outstanding works in the genre of  Thrillers, Suspense, & Investigative Fiction. The CLUE Book Awards is a division of Chanticleer International Novel Writing Competitions.

 Congratulations to these authors for their works moving up from the 2017 CLUE  slush pile to the Short List. These novels will now compete for the First Place Category positions!

Each of the titles below has earned the CLUE BOOK AWARDS SHORTLIST bragging rights!

More than $30,000.00 dollars worth of cash and prizes will be awarded to Chanticleer Book Reviews 2017 writing competition winners!

The CLUE Book Awards FIRST IN CATEGORY sub-genres are Detective/Crime, Suspense/Thriller, Private Eye/Noir, Legal/Medical/Police Procedural, Investigative, Spy/Espionage, and Political Thrillers.

The following titles will compete for the FIRST IN CATEGORY Positions and Book Awards Packages.

NOTE: This is the Official List of the CLUE 2017 SHORT LIST.

This is the Official 2017 Shortlist for the 2017 CLUE  Book Awards:

  • Triveen Nair – Land of Seekers
  • Jeffrey A. Lockwood – Poisoned Justice
  • Carl and Jane Bock – Death Award 
  • Hubert Crouch – The Weight
  • Martin Roy Hill – The Butcher’s Bill
  • Kara Lumbley – As the Ribbons Fall
  • Jeffrey Ridenour – Aged in Charcoal
  • Kaylin McFarren – Twisted Threads
  • John Houde – The Criminalist: A Novel of Forensic Science Suspense
  • Patrick Clark – The Monroe Decision
  • Clint Hollingsworth – Death in the High Lonesome
  • Elaine Williams Crockett – Do Not Ask
  • Deborah Rich – Under the Radar
  • Lisa Malice – Lost & Found
  • Robert D. Calkins – Digger
  • Barb Warner Deane – Killing Her Softly
  • Lou Dischler – Beneath the Frozen Waves of Steel
  • Larry Temple – 100 Days of Terror
  • Elizabeth Crowens – Dear Mr. Hitchcock
  • Zach Fortier – Cachibache
  • Dana Ridenour – Beyond The Cabin
  • K. A. Davis – A Game of Deceit
  • Avanti Centrae – VanOps – The Lost Power
  • John L. DeBoer – When the Reaper Comes
  • Bruce Graham – Member From Devon
  • Murray Lee Eiland Jr – A New Family (The Bart Northcote Series Book 3)

The CLUE SHORTLISTERS  will compete for the CLUE First-In-Category Positions, which consists of Seven Judging Rounds. First Place Category Award winners will automatically be entered into the CLUE BOOK AWARDS GRAND PRIZE competition. The CBR Grand Prize Genre Winners will compete for the CBR Overall Grand Prize for Best Book and its $1,000 purse.

Lonna Enox awarded Clue Grand Prize for BLOOD RELATIONS

All ShortListers will receive high visibility along with special badges to wear during the Chanticleer Authors Conference and Awards Gala.

As always, please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions, concerns, or suggestions at

Congratulations to the Short Listers in this fiercely competitive contest!

Good Luck to each of you!

The CLUE Grand Prize Winner and the Five First Place Category Position award winners along with all Short Listers in attendance will be announced at the April 21st, 2018 Chanticleer Book Awards Annual Awards Gala, which takes place at the Chanticleer Authors Conference that will be held in Bellingham, Wash.

We are now accepting submissions into the 2018 CLUE Awards writing competition. The deadline for submissions is September 30th, 2018. Please click here for more information.