Paranormal Fiction AwardsThe PARANORMAL Book Awards recognizes emerging new talent and outstanding works in the genre of  Magic, supernatural, superhumans, magical beings, vampires and werewolves, and etc. The PARANORMAL Book Awards is a division of Chanticleer International Book Awards.

Congratulations to these authors for their works moving up from the 2017 Paranormal slush pile to the Short List. These novels will now compete for the First Place Category positions!

Each of the titles below has earned the PARANORMAL BOOK AWARDS SHORTLIST bragging rights!

More than $30,000.00 dollars worth of cash and prizes will be awarded to Chanticleer Book Reviews 2017 writing competition winners!

The PARANORMAL Book Awards FIRST IN CATEGORY sub-genres are Adventure/Mystery/Thriller, Paranormal Romance, Magical Beings & Creatures, Strange and Unexplained, & Supernatural powers.

The following titles will compete for the FIRST IN CATEGORY Positions and Book Awards Packages.

NOTE: This is the Official List of the PARANORMAL 2017 SHORT LIST.

This is the Official 2017 Shortlist for the 2017 PARANORMAL  Book Awards:

  • Joanne Jaytanie – Willow’s Discovery
  • Alex E. Carey – Water’s Reflection
  • Judith Docken – Ghosted: A Novel of Life, Love and Moving On
  • Pamela LePage – Virtuous Souls
  • Elizabeth Crowens – Dear Mr. Hitchcock
  • Elizabeth Crowens – A Pocketful of Lodestones, Time Traveler Professor Book 2
  • Emma Rose Millar – Delirium
  • Joy Ross Davis – Countenance
  • Susan Buffum – Out
  • Lydia Staggs – Rea
  • Jerry Gundersheimer – Face of the Bell Witch: Book One of The Medium Series
  • Tom & Nancy Wise – Life on Base: Spirit of Quantico
  • DJ Erfert – Window of Time
  • Ann Charles – Make No Bones About It
  • Chynna Laird – Dark Water
  • Heather Starsong – Never Again
  • Avanti Centrae – VanOps – The Lost Power
  • Laura Wolfe – Barn Shadows (Dark Horse, Book Two)
  • J.R.R.R. (Jim) Hardison – Demon Freaks

As always, please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions, concerns, or suggestions at

Congratulations to the Short Listers in this fiercely competitive contest!

Good Luck to each of you!

The PARANORMAL Grand Prize Winner and the Five First Place Category Position award winners along with all Short Listers in attendance will be announced at the April 21st, 2018 Chanticleer Book Awards Annual Awards Gala, which takes place at the Chanticleer Authors Conference that will be held in Bellingham, Wash.

We are now accepting submissions for the 2018 PARANORMAL Awards writing competition. The deadline for submissions is September 30th, 2018. Please click here for more information.