Mainstream Contemporary Fiction AwardsThe SOMERSET Book Awards recognizes emerging new talent and outstanding works in the genre of  Literary, Contemporary, and Mainstream Fiction. The Somerset Book Awards is a division of Chanticleer International Novel Writing Competitions.

More than $30,000.00 dollars worth of cash and prizes will be awarded to Chanticleer Book Reviews 2017 writing competition winners at the Chanticleer Authors Conference April 21st, 2018!

This is the Official Semi-Finalists List of the Authors and Titles of Works that have been SHORT-LISTED for the Somerset 2017 Book Awards. These titles will now compete for the First In Category positions.

  • Stephanie C. Lyons-Keeley & Wayne J. Keeley – Going All In
  • Julie Carrick Dalton – Four Degrees 
  • Lou Dischler – Too Pretty for a Hit Man
  • John Herman – The Counting of Coup
  • J.P. Kenna – Joel Emmanuel
  • Gregory Erich Phillips – The Exile
  • Gayle Hanratty – Gray Hampton
  • Toni Wilbarger – Words Will Never Hurt Me
  • Lou Dischler – The Benzene Carnival 
  • Blaine Beveridge – A Bit of Candy in Hard Times
  • Samuel Winburn – Ten Directions
  • Justine Avery – The One Apart: A Novel
  • Judith Kirscht – The Camera’s Eye
  • Kaylin McFarren – Twisted Threads
  • David B. Seaburn – Parrot Talk
  • C.L. Ogilvie – Skipping Out on Henry
  • Elizabeth Crowens – Dear Mr. Hitchcock
  • Chuck Gould – The Rabbi’s Gift
  • James Gregory Kingston – The City Island Messenger
  • Malcolm Ivey – On the Shoulders of Giants
  • Michelle Rene – Hour Glass 
  • Yorker Keith – The Other La Boheme
  • J.L. Skirvin – Rollins of Stone House 
  • Jessica Dainty – The Shape of the Atmosphere 
  • Richard Barager – The Atheist and the Parrotfish
  • J. Argo – The Blackest Crow
  • Carol June Stover – Kenmore Square/ A Novel
  • Sarah Houssayni – Fireworks
  • Beth Wareham and Jason Davis – Hair Club Burning
  • Conon E Parks – Empty Bottle of Smoke
  • Kathleen M. Rodgers – Seven Wings to Glory

Good Luck to all of the 2017  SOMERSET Short-Listers as they compete for the First Place Category positions.

First In Category announcements will be made at the Awards Ceremony. The SOMERSET Grand Prize Winner and First Place Category Winners will be announced at the April 21st,  2018 Chanticleer Writing Contests Annual Awards Gala, at the Chanticleer Authors Conference that will be held in Bellingham, Wash. 

We are now accepting submissions into the 2018 SOMERSET Book Awards for Literary, Contemporary, and Mainstream Fiction. Please click here for more information.