We are excited and honored to officially announce the Grand Prize Winner and the First Place Category Winners for the 2017 JOURNEY Book Awards for Narrative Non-fiction Books at the fifth annual Chanticleer Authors Conference and Chanticleer Book Awards Ceremony. This year’s ceremony and banquet were held on Saturday, April 21st, 2018 at the Hotel Bellwether by beautiful Bellingham Bay, Wash.

We want to thank all of those who entered and participated in the  2017 Journey Book Awards for Narrative Non-fiction, a division of the Chanticleer  International Book Awards.

When we receive the digital photographs from the Official CAC18 photographer, we will post them here and on the complete announcement that will list all the genres and the Overall Grand Prize Winner for the 2017 Chanticleer International Book Awards. Please check back!

Click here for the link to the 2017 Journey Shortlisters! An email will go out within three weeks to all Shortlisters with links to digital badges and how to order Shortlister stickers.

Christine Smith, the author of the 2014 JOURNEY  Grand Prize Winner, More Faster, Backwards: Rebuilding David B,  announced the First Place Award Winners and the Grand Prize Winner for the 2017 Journey Book Awards at the Chanticleer Awards Banquet and Ceremony.

Congratulations to the First Place Category Winners of the 2017  Journey Book Awards for Narrative Non-fiction. 

An email will go out to all First Place Category Winners and Grand Prize Winners with more information, the timing of awarded reviews, links to digital badges, and more by May 21st, 2018 (four weeks after the awards ceremony). Please look for it.

2017 Journey Book Awards for Narrative Non- Fiction First in Category Winners

  • Broken Places by Rachel Thompson
  • Getting to Heaven by Going Through Hell by Dr. Scot Hodkiewicz
  • Inside: One Woman’s Journey Through the Inside Passage by Susan M. Conrad
  • Immunity by Donna LeClair
  • Refraction by Bruce Rettig
  • Fishing With Hyenas by Theresa Mathews

And now for the 2017 JOURNEY Grand Prize Book Award Winner for Narrative Non-Fiction:

Inside: One Woman’s Journey Through the Inside Passage

by Susan Marie Conrad 






This post will be updated with photos. Please do visit it again!

The submissions deadline for the 2018 Journey Awards is April 30, 2018 midnight PST.

Our next Chanticleer International Book Awards Banquet will be held on Saturday, April 20th, 2019, for the 2018 winners. Enter your book or manuscript in a contest today!