Cygnus Award for Science FictionThe Cygnus Book Awards recognize emerging new talent and outstanding works in the genre of Science Fiction, Steampunk, Alternative History, and Speculative Fiction.  The Cygnus Awards is a genre division of Chanticleer International Book Awards and Novel Competitions (CIBA).

These titles have moved forward in the judging rounds from SLUSH pile to the 2018 Cygnus Book Awards LONG LIST. We incorporate the Long List when the judges request an additional round of judging to accommodate the number and/or quality of entries received.  These entries are now in competition for 2018 Cygnus Semi-Finalists List known as the SHORT LIST. Short Listers will compete for the limited First  Place Category Winners of the 2018 Cygnus Book Awards in the last rounds of judging and will be announced at the Awards Banquet and Ceremony on Saturday, April 28th, 2019. 

Chanticleer Book Reviews is looking for the best books featuring space, time travel, life on other planets, parallel universes, alternate reality, and all the science, technology, major social or environmental changes of the future that author imaginations can dream up. Hard Science Fiction, Soft Science Fiction, Apocalyptic Fiction, Cyberpunk, Time Travel, Genetic Modification, Aliens, Super Humans, Interplanetary Travel, and Settlers on the Galactic Frontier, Dystopian, we will put them to the test and choose the best among them.

These titles are in the running for the SHORT LIST of the 2018 Cygnus Book Awards novel competition for Science Fiction!

  • Andrew Lueders – Youth Patrol
  • Matthew D. Hunt – Solar Reboot
  • Mark Daniel Seiler – River’s Child
  • Samuel Winburn – Ten Directions
  • Rhett C Bruno – Titan’s Wrath
  • Catori Sarmiento – The Fortune Follies
  • Paul A. Vasey – Trinity’s Legacy
  • Isadora Deese – Right of Capture
  • Jim Cronin – Recusant
  • Phillip R. Onagan – Within The Gambit
  • O@4 – Europe United
  • Stu Jones & Gareth Worthington – It Takes Death to Reach a Star
  • Ryan London – Pillars of the Mortal Monarchies
  • Pamela LePage – Virtuous Souls
  • Richard Mann – Zeus 25 – Jory and Zenobia
  • Denise Lammi – Lucid World
  • M.Black – Electric Gardens
  • Mark Daniel Seiler – River’s Child
  • Daniel Zadow – Pigeon
  • Elizabeth Crowens – Silent Meridian, Book 1 in the Time Traveler Professor series
  • Elizabeth Crowens – A Pocketful of Lodestones, Book 2 in the Time Traveler Professor series
  • Gareth Worthington – Children of the Fifth Sun
  • KB Shaw – From the Shadows 
  • Sarah Katz – Apex Five
  • Lou Dischler – Meet Me Under the Comet
  • Cary Allen Stone – Seeds – The Journey Begins
  • Justine Avery – The One Apart: A Novel
  •  J. I. Rogers – The Korpes File
  • Timothy Vincent – Jack Out of the Box
  • Alexander Edlund – Keelic and the Pathfinders of Midgarth
  • Ted Neill – The Selah Branch
  • E.C. Fisher – The Deceived
  • Isadora Deese – Right of Capture
  • Megan Wetzel – Abandon
  • G.R. Morris – Tomorrows End

The CYGNUS Long Listers will compete for the 2018 CYGNUS Short List. Short Listers will then compete for the Semi-Finalists positions. The Semi-Finalists will compete for the First Place Category positions. The First Place Category winners will automatically be entered into the CYGNUS GRAND PRIZE AWARD competition.  The 16 CBR Grand Prize Genre Winners will compete for the CBR Overall Grand Prize for Best Book and its $1,000 purse. The CIBA Awards!

Bennett Coles, CYGNUS Grand Prize Winner for his VIRTUES OF WAR series that was picked up by TITAN BOOKS U.K. for a three book series and recently by  Harper Collins.

All Short Listers will receive high visibility along with special badges to wear during the Chanticleer Authors Conference and Awards Gala.

As always, please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions, concerns, or suggestions at 

Grand Prize Ribbons!

Good Luck to each of you as your works compete for the CYGNUS Awards  Short List. 

The CYGNUS Grand Prize Winner and the Five First Place Category Position award winners will be announced at the April 28th, 2019 Chanticleer Book Awards Annual Awards Gala, which takes place at the Chanticleer Authors Conference that will be held in Bellingham, Wash. 

We are now accepting submissions into the 2019 CYGNUS  Awards writing competition. The deadline for submissions is April 30th, 2019. Please click here for more information.