Cygnus Award for Science FictionThe Cygnus Book Awards recognize emerging new talent and outstanding works in the genre of Science Fiction, Steampunk, Alternative History, and Speculative Fiction.  The Cygnus Awards is a genre division of Chanticleer International Book Awards and Novel Competitions (CIBA).

These titles have moved forward in the judging rounds from Long Listers (Slush Pile Survivors) to the SHORTLIST and have now moved on to the SEMI-FINALISTS list of the 2018 Cygnus Book Awards. These entries are now in competition for the limited  First Place Category Positions for the 2018 Cygnus Book Awards. The 2018 Cygnus Book Awards Semi-Finalists will be recognized at 2019 Chanticleer Authors Conference. The First Place Positions along with the CYGNUS Grand Prize Award Winner will be selected from this Semi-Finalist list and will be announced at the Awards Gala on Saturday, April 27th, 2019 

We will make the SEMIFINALISTS Digital Badge and Book Stickers available before the end of November 2018 and will email the link and the Semi-Finalist notification to those whose works made the list.

Deadline for 2018 CYGNUS Book Awards submissions was April 30, 2018. We are now accepting entries into the 2019 CYGNUS Awards.

Chanticleer Book Reviews is looking for the best books featuring space, time travel, life on other planets, parallel universes, alternate reality, and all the science, technology, major social or environmental changes of the future that author imaginations can dream up. Hard Science Fiction, Soft Science Fiction, Apocalyptic Fiction, Cyberpunk, Time Travel, Genetic Modification, Aliens, Super Humans, Interplanetary Travel, and Settlers on the Galactic Frontier, Dystopian, we will put them to the test and choose the best among them.

These titles are in the running for the top  2018 CYGNUS Book Awards novel competition for Science Fiction First Place Category positions! Good Luck to All!

  • Matthew D. HuntSolar Reboot
  • Sarah KatzApex Five
  • Paul A. VaseyTrinity’s Legacy
  • Catori SarmientoThe Fortune Follies
  • Stu Jones & Gareth WorthingtonIt Takes Death to Reach a Star
  • Timothy Vincent – Jack Out of the Box
  • Isadora DeeseRight of Capture
  • Jim CroninRecusant
  • Lou DischlerMeet Me Under the Comet
  • Richard MannZeus 25 – Jory and Zenobia
  • Justine AveryThe One Apart: A Novel 
  • Pamela LePageVirtuous Souls
  • Denise LammiLucid World
  • Mark Daniel SeilerRiver’s Child
  • Samuel WinburnTen Directions
  • Rhett C BrunoTitan’s Wrath
  • J. I. RogersThe Korpes File
  • Ted Neill– The Selah Branch
  • Gareth WorthingtonChildren of the Fifth Sun
  • Alexander Edlund – Keelic and the Pathfinders of Midgarth

Congratulations to these authors for their works moving up from the 2018 CYGNUS SHORTLIST  to the Semi-Finalists  List.  

The CYGNUS  SemiFinalists positions will compete for the limited CYGNUS First-In-Category Positions.  First Place Category Award winners will automatically be entered into the CYGNUS GRAND PRIZE AWARD competition.  The CBR Grand Prize Genre Winners will compete for the CIBA Overall Grand Prize for Best Book and its $1,000 purse.


John Yarrow, CYGNUS Grand Prize Award Winner for The FUTURE’S DARK PAST (2017)

James R. Wells Awarded the Cygnus Grand Prize for THE GREAT SYMMETRY (2015)

All SemiFinalists will receive high visibility along with special badges to wear during the Chanticleer Authors Conference and Awards Gala.

Congratulations to the Semi-Finalists in this fiercely competitive contest! 

Good Luck to each of you as your work competes in the 2018 CYGNUS International Book Awards. 





The CYGNUS Grand Prize Winner and the Five First Place Category Position award winners will be announced at the April 27th, 2019 Chanticleer Book Awards Annual Awards Gala, which takes place at the Chanticleer Authors Conference that will be held in Bellingham, Wash. 

Bennett Coles CYGNUS Grand Prize for VIRTUES of WAR (2013) The series was picked up by TITAN U.K.


We are now accepting submissions into the 2019 CYGNUS  Awards writing competition. The deadline for submissions into the 2019 CYGNUS Book Awards is April 30th, 2019. Please click here for more information. 

As always, please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions, concerns, or suggestions at