GLOBAL THRILLERS Book Awards 2018 SHORTLIST for Lab Lit and World Power – The CIBAs

The GLOBAL THRILLERS Book Awards recognizes emerging new talent and outstanding works in the genre of  Lab Lit and Global Thrillers. The GLOBAL  THRILLERS Book Awards is a division of Chanticleer International Novel Book Awards and Writing Competitions.  (The CIBAs)

Chanticleer Book Reviews is looking for the best books featuring suspense, thrilling stories that put the balance of world power or that will end the world as we know it. We include with Global Thrillers the Lab Lit genre. Lab Lit is when Fiction Meets Real Science and Research or stories that are based on real science and research up to a certain “what if” point.

Examples from

Enigma by Robert Harris; A brilliant mathematician struggles to crack German codes in the second world war. Historical Fiction
The Highest Tide by Jim Lynch; A budding marine biologist has an unforgettable summer.
Arrowsmith by Sinclair Lewis; A scientist/medic leans the hard way that pure research is nobler – and cures plague in the process.

GLOBAL Thriller examples:

Best examples of these are James Bond books, X-Men, Tom Clancy novels, and Star Wars/Star Trek where humankind is at stake or the planet is doomed.

(For light-hearted, cozy, or classic Mystery and Suspense entries see our Mystery & Mayhem Awards and for Thriller/Suspense/Hardboiled-Detective series, please see the CLUE Awards)

More than $30,000.00 dollars worth of cash and prizes will be awarded to Chanticleer Book Reviews 2018 writing competition winners at the Chanticleer Authors Conference April 21st, 2018!

This is the Official announcement of the Authors and Titles of Works that have been SHORT-LISTED for the GLOBAL THRILLERS  2018 Book Awards. These titles will now compete for the First In Category positions.

Information about the #CIBAs Long Lists and Short Lists and Announcement Rounds.

These titles have moved forward in the judging rounds from SLUSH pile to the SHORTLIST.  These entries are now in competition for the 2018 GLOBAL THRILLERS SEMIFINALISTS  positions. The coveted First  Place Category Winners of the 2018 GLOBAL THRILLERS Book Awards will be selected from the Semi-Finalists in the final rounds of judging.  

The First Place Category Winners will be announced at the Chanticleer Awards Banquet and Ceremony. The First Place Category winners will automatically be entered into the GLOBAL THRILLER GRAND PRIZE AWARD competition.  The 16 CBR Grand Prize Genre Winners will compete for the CBR Overall Grand Prize for Best Book and its $1,000 purse. First Place Category and Grand Prize Awards will be announced and recognized at the Chanticleer Awards Banquet and Ceremony on Saturday, April 27th, 2019, Bellingham, Washington.

The Official 2018 GLOBAL THRILLER Book Awards SHORTLIST:

  • Richard Garis – Magenta is Missing
  • Randall Krzak – Dangerous Alliance
  • Timothy S. Johnston – The War Beneath
  • R. Barber Anderson – The Sunken Forest
  • John W. Howell & Gwen M. Plano – The Contract Between Heaven and Earth
  • E.M. Kelly – Addiction & Pestilence
  • Rachael Sparks – Resistant
  • Michael Pronko – The Moving Blade
  • L M Hedrick – The Rigel Affair
  • Michelle Bryan – Strain of Defiance
  • W. A. Holdsworth – Novum Orbis Regium
  • Randall Krzak – The Kurdish Connection
  • Paul McHugh – The Blind Pool
  • Stephen Martino – The Final Reality
  • Lawrence Verigin – Beyond Control
  • Kamalendu Malaker – The Plasma
  • Elena Mikalsen – All the Silent Voices

Good Luck to all of the 2018 GLOBAL THRILLERS Short-Listers as they compete for the Semi-Finalists positions.

Grand Prize Ribbons!

Sara Stamey, Global Thrillers Grand Prize Winner



First In Category announcements will be made at the Awards Ceremony. The GLOBAL THRILLERS Grand Prize Winner and First Place Category Winners will be announced at the April 27th,  2019 Chanticleer International Book Awards  Annual Awards Gala, at the Chanticleer Authors Conference that will be held in Bellingham, Wash. 

We are now accepting submissions into the 2019 GLOBAL THRILLER Book Awards writing competition. The deadline for submissions is November 30th, 2019. Please click here for more information. 

As always, please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions, concerns, or suggestions at 

2019-02-01T17:15:26-08:00By |

Leave A Comment