Listen to or download this article:

Post 1750s Historical Fiction AwardThe Goethe Book Awards recognize emerging new talent in post-1750s Historical Fiction. The Goethe Book Awards is a division of the Chanticleer International Book Awards (The CIBAs).


The Goethe Book Awards competition is named for Johann Wolfgang von Goethe who was born at the dawn of the new era of enlightenment on August 28, 1749.

Chanticleer International Book Awards is looking for the best books featuring Late Period Historical Fiction. Regency, Victorian,18th Century, 19th Century, 20th Century, World and other wars, history of non-western cultures, set after the 1750s, we will put them to the test and choose the best among them.

These titles have moved forward in the judging rounds from SLUSH pile to the LONG LIST to the Goethe Shortlist and have now advanced to the Goethe Semi-Finalists positions. Semi-Finalists will be recognized at the 2020 Chanticleer Authors Conference and the 2019 CIBA banquet and ceremony. The First Place Category Winners, along with the CIBA Division Grand Prize winners, will be selected from the 16 CIBA divisions Semi-Finalists. We will announce the 1st Place Category winners and Grand Prize Division Winners at the CIBAs Banquet and Ceremony on Saturday, April 18th, 2020 at the luxurious Hotel Bellwether in Bellingham, Wash.

Goethe Book Awards Semi-Finalist Badge

Congratulations to the 2019 Goethe Awards for post 1750s Historical Fiction Semi-Finalists

  • James Anderson O’Neal – Riley and the Great War
  • Vanda Writer – Paris, Adrift
  • Kari Bovee – Peccadillo at the Palace
  • Kari Bovee – Girl with a Gun
  • Kari Bovee – Grace in the Wings
  • PJ Devlin – Wissahickon Souls
  • John Hansen – Hard Times
  • Patricia Suprenant – Journey to the Isle of Devils 
  • Lee Hutch – So Others May Live
  • Mike Jordan – The Runner 
  • Lisa Braver Moss – SHRUG: A Novel 
  • Sandra Wagner-Wright – Two Coins: A Biographical Novel
  • J.G. Schwartz – The Pearl Harbor Conspiracy
  • Marina Osipova – How Dare The Birds Sing 
  • Marilyn Pemberton – The Jewel Garden
  • Mary Adler – Shadowed by Death: An Oliver Wright WWII Mystery

Good luck to all as your works move on to the next rounds of judging.


The 16 divisions of the 2019 CIBAs’ Grand Prize Winners and the Five First Place Category Position award winners along with recognizing the Semi-Finalists will be announced at the April 18th, 2020 Chanticleer International Book Awards Annual Awards Gala, which takes place at the Chanticleer Authors Conference that will be held in Bellingham, Wash.


We are now accepting submissions into the 2020 Goethe Book Awards for post-1750s Historical Fiction. The deadline for submissions is June 30, 2020. The 2020 winners will be announced in April 2021.