Listen to or download this article:

The Journey Book Awards recognize emerging new talent and outstanding works in the genre of Narrative Non-Fiction and Memoir. The Journey Book  Awards is a genre division of Chanticleer International Book Awards and Novel Competitions (CIBAs).



Chanticleer International Book Awards is looking for the best books featuring true stories about adventures, life events, unique experiences, travel, personal journeys, global enlightenment, and more. We will put books about true and inspiring stories to the test and choose the best among them.

Editor’s Note: Some works have been moved to the new non-fiction division titled the Nellie Bly Book Awards. This new division is in response to the request from the Chanticleer International Book Awards judges to acknowledge the many outstanding works that were entered into the Instruction & Insight Book Awards and the Journey Book Awards for Narrative Non-fiction. The Nellie Bly Book Awards recognize outstanding journalistic works and investigative pieces.  After reviewing the comments from the judges along with their suggestions, we decided to recognize these works and create a more fitting division in the CIBAs — the Nellie Bly Book Awards

The following works have advanced to the 2019 Journey Book Awards for Narrative Non-Fiction & Memoirs Semi-Finals!

  • Anna Carner – Blossom ~ The Wild Ambassador of Tewksbury
  • Rebecca Faye Smith Galli – Rethinking Possible: A Memoir of Resilience
  • Donna Hill – Yes, The World Is Round
  • Linda Gartz – Redlined: A Memoir of Race, Change, and Fractured Community in 1960s Chicago
  • J. Bronson Haley – The Depth of Grace: Finding Hope at Rock Bottom
  • Julie MacNeil – The 50-Year Secret
  • Whitney Ellenby – Autism Uncensored: Pulling Back the Curtain
  • Dena Moes – The Buddha Sat Right Here: A Family Odyssey Through India and Nepal
  • Nancy Canyon – STRUCK: A Memoir
  • Carol E. Anderson – You Can’t Buy Love Like That: Growing Up Gay in the Sixties
  • Steffanie Strathdee and Thomas Patterson – The Perfect Predator: A Scientist’s Race to Save Her Husband from a Deadly Superbug
  • Juliet Cutler – Among the Maasai
  • Andy Chaleff – The Last Letter
  • Rod Baker – I Need my Yacht by Friday – True Tales from the Boat Repair Yard
  • Lance Brewer – Back Story Alaska
  • Lisa Dailey – Square Up
  • Julie L. Seely – Skinny House -A Memoir of Family
  • Eva Doherty Gremmert – Our Time To Dance
  • John Hoyte – Persistence of Light
  • Nikki West – The Odyssey of the Chameleon

Good luck to all as your works compete for the First Place Category positions.

These titles have moved forward in the judging rounds from SLUSH pile to the 2019 JOURNEY Book Awards LONG LIST and have advanced to the 2019 JOURNEY Shortlist. Some works were moved to the new Nellie Bly Book Awards division at the request of the judges. These Short Listers have advanced to the Semi-Finalists positions. The Semi-Finalists will compete for the limited First Place Category Winners in the final rounds of judging. All Semi-Finalists will be recognized at CAC20.  The First Place Category Winners, along with the division Grand Prize winners, will be announced at the CIBAs Banquet and Ceremony on Saturday, April 18th, 2020 at the luxurious Hotel Bellwether in Bellingham, Wash.

The 2019 CIBA winners will be announced at the Chanticleer International Book Awards Ceremony held on Saturday, April 18th, 2020, for the 2019 CIBA winners.

Enter your book or manuscript in a contest today!

Chanticleer Authors Conference April 17th-19th 2020

Chanticleer Authors Conference 2020


We are now accepting entries into the 2020 Journey Book Awards, a division of the Chanticleer International Book Awards.

As always, please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions, concerns, or suggestions at