Listen to or download this article:

Journey Narrative Non-FictionThe Journey Book Awards recognize emerging new talent and outstanding works in the genre of Narrative Non-Fiction and Memoir. The Journey Book  Awards is a genre division of Chanticleer International Book Awards and Novel Competitions (CIBAs).

Chanticleer International Book Awards is looking for the best books featuring true stories about adventures, life events, unique experiences, travel, personal journeys, global enlightenment, and more. Our judges will put books about true and inspiring stories to the test and choose the best among them. 

Editor’s Note: Some works have been moved to the new non-fiction division titled the Nellie Bly Book Awards. This new division is in response to the request from the Chanticleer International Book Awards judges to acknowledge the many outstanding works that were entered into the Instruction & Insight Book Awards and the Journey Book Awards for Narrative Non-fiction. The Nellie Bly Book Awards recognize outstanding journalistic works and investigative pieces.  After reviewing the comments from the judges along with their suggestions, we decided to recognize these works and create a more fitting division in the CIBAs — the Nellie Bly Book Awards

The 2019 CIBAs received an unprecedented number of entries making this book awards program even more competitive. More entries along with more competitive works makes the final rounds of judging even more demanding. The judges have requested a new level of achievement to be added to the rounds to acknowledge the entries that they deemed should receive a high level of recognition.

We decided that this was the time to incorporate the new level – The FINALISTS – as requested by the CIBA judges. This new level will be incorporated into the 2019 CIBAs Levels of Achievement.  The FINALISTS were selected from the entries that advanced to the 2019 JOURNEY Semi-Finalists level. 

The following works have advanced to the FINALIST position of the 2019 Journey Book Awards for Narrative Non-Fiction & Memoirs!

Congratulations to:

  • Anna Carner – Blossom ~ The Wild Ambassador of Tewksbury
  • Linda Gartz – Redlined: A Memoir of Race, Change, and Fractured Community in 1960s Chicago
  • Julie MacNeil – The 50-Year Secret
  • Steffanie Strathdee and Thomas Patterson – The Perfect Predator: A Scientist’s Race to Save Her Husband from a Deadly Superbug
  • Lance Brewer – Back Story Alaska
  • Eva Doherty Gremmert – Our Time To Dance
  • John Hoyte – Persistence of Light
  • Nikki West – The Odyssey of the Chameleon
  • Nancy Canyon – STRUCK: A Memoir
  • Rebecca Faye Smith Galli – Rethinking Possible: A Memoir of Resilience
  • J. Bronson Haley – The Depth of Grace: Finding Hope at Rock Bottom    
  • Julie L. Seely – Skinny House -A Memoir of Family 

Congratulations to all whose works have advanced to the FINALISTS level. 

All Semi-Finalists and Finalists will be recognized at the 2020 Chanticleer Authors Conference and the 2019 CIBA banquet and ceremony.

Good luck to all as your works move on the next rounds of judging for the limited 2019 1st Place Category Positions and the 2019 Journey Book Awards Grand Prize.

The 2019 JOURNEY Grand Prize Winner and the First Place Category Position award winners along with the Finalists and  Semi-Finalists will be recognized at the Sept 5, 2020 Chanticleer International Book Awards Annual Awards Gala, which takes place at the Chanticleer Authors Conference,  Bellingham, Wash. 

Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, CAC20 has been rescheduled from the original date in April to September 4 – 6, 2020 with Master Classes to be held on Thursday, September 3. The CIBA Banquet and Ceremony is scheduled for Saturday, September 5, 2020.

You know that you want one–A CIBA Blue Ribbon!

Journey Narrative Non-FictionWe are now accepting submissions into the 2020 JOURNEY Book  Awards Narrative Non-fiction competition. The deadline for submissions is April 30th, 2020. The winners will be announced April 2021.

Please click here for more information.