Listen to or download this article:

Pre 1750 Historical Fiction AwardCongratulations to the First Place Category Winners and the Grand Prize Winner of the CHAUCER Book Awards for Pre-1750s historical fiction, a division of the 2019 CIBAs.



The Search for the Best New Pre-1750s Historical Fiction 

Chanticleer Book Reviews is celebrating the best books featuring Pre-1750s Historical Fiction, Including Pre-History, Ancient History, Classical, World History (non-western culture), Dark Ages and Medieval Europe, Renaissance, Elizabethan, Tudor, and 1600s. We love them all.

The 2019 CHAUCER Book Awards First Place Category Winners and the CHAUCER Grand Prize winner were announced at the Virtual Chanticleer Authors Conference that was broadcast via ZOOM webinar the week of Sept 8 -13, 2020 from the Hotel Bellwether in Bellingham, Wash.

Michelle Cox, author of the Henrietta and Inspector Howard Mystery Series, the 2016 M & M Grand Prize Winner, announced the 2019 CHAUCER Book Awards.

This is the Official 2019 LIST of the CHAUCER Book Awards First Place Category Winners and the CHAUCER Grand Prize Winner.

Congratulations to All! 

  • Gail Avery Halverson – The Skeptical Physick
  • Linda Cardillo – Love That Moves the Sun: Vittoria Colonna and Michelangelo Buonarotti
  • June Hall McCash – Eleanor’s Daughter: A Novel of Marie de Champagne
  • James Hutson-Wiley – The Sugar Merchant
  • James Conroyd Martin – Fortune’s Child: A Novel of Empress Theodora
  • Catherine Mathis – Death in Coimbra
  • Patricia J. Boomsma – The Way of Glory
  • A.L. Cleven – 26.2

The CHAUCER Book Awards

2019 Grand Prize Winner is 

Fortune’s Child: A Novel of Empress Theodora

by James Conroyd Martin 


This is the digital badge for the 2018 CHAUCER Grand Prize Winner – The Serpent and the Eagle by Edward Rickford

How to Enter the Chaucer Book Awards?

We are accepting submissions into the 2021 CHAUCER Book Awards until June30, 2021. Submissions into the 2020 CHAUCER Book Awards are closed. 

The 2020 CHAUCER Book Awards winners will be announced at CAC 21 on April 17, 2021.

Don’t delay! Enter today! 

A Note to ALL the WINNERS: The coveted CIBA Blue Ribbons will be mailed out starting in mid-October. We will contact you with an email to verify your mailing address and other items. We thank you for your patience and understanding.

If you have any questions, please email == we will try our best to reply in 3 or 4 business days.