Listen to or download this article:

We are deeply honored and excited to announce the 2019 Winners of the Chanticleer International Book Awards (The CIBAs). The winners were recognized at the Virtual Chanticleer Authors Conference and Awards Ceremonies that were held on during VCAC September 8 – 13, 2020 by ZOOM webinars based at the luxurious Hotel Bellwether, Bellingham, Wash.

2018 Chanticleer International Book Awards Grand Prize Winners

The 2020 Chanticleer Authors Conference and the 2019  Chanticleer Int’l Book Awards Banquet and Ceremony was originally scheduled for April 17 – 19, 2020. Each year, Chanticleerians from around the globe come together to celebrate and cheer each other on at the annual CIBA banquet and awards evening at the luxurious Hotel Bellwether that is situated on beautiful Bellingham Bay, Washington State.

However, because of the global coronavirus pandemic the conference was officially postponed on March 11, 2020. We had hoped to have our beloved and celebrated CIBA banquet and ceremony during the 2020  summer months perhaps even over Labor Day weekend. However, it became apparent in July, with the USA having  spikes in the coronavirus, that it would not be prudent to host a live in-person conference in 2020.

So, we pivoted. We held our first ever virtual Chanticleer Authors Conference in September known as VCAC20! The conference proper was six days, September 9 – 13, 2020 with  2019 CIBA 14 Fiction and 3 Non-Fiction Divisions Official Announcements were made each evening. Additionally to the six days of VCAC sessions, we also held four more days of workshops and master writing classes the week immediately following.

First of all, we want to thank all of the CIBA judges who read each and every entry and then comment, rate, and rank within each of the 17 CIBA Divisions. Without your labors of love for books, the Chanticleer International Book Awards would not exist. THANK YOU!

We want to thank all of the authors and publishers who participated in the 2019 Chanticleer International Book Awards (the CIBAs). Each year, we find the quality of the entries and the competitiveness of the division competitions increasing exponentially. We added a new level to the judging rounds in 2019—the premier Level of FINALIST per each CIBA Division. The CIBA judges wanted to add the Finalist Level of Achievement as a way to recognize and validate the entries that had outstanding merit but were not selected for the very few First Place Award positions within each genre division.

A Recap of the CIBA Selection Process

  • The 2019 CIBAs have 14 Fiction Divisions and 3 Non-fiction Divisions.
  • First Place Category award winners were selected for each one of the 17 divisions from an overall field of  titles that progressed to the Premier FINALIST Division Level from the Division Semi-Finalists positions from the Shortlists, the Long List, and the infamous beginning slush pile rounds.
  • One Grand Prize award winner was selected from the First Place Category Award Winners for each of the 17 CIBA divisions.
  • One Overall Grand Prize award winner was selected from the 17 divisions of Grand Prize Award Winners

All 2019 CIBA FINALISTS  were recognized with their respective division at the CIBA awards ceremony that was held each evening of VCAC20.


Robert Dugoni-one of our most popular speakers & Amazon #1 Selling Author

Scott Steindorff – A-List Film Producer – who shares his expertise & knowledge of the film industry and its future.

JD Barker – Master of Suspense shares his experiences from Indie author to 7 figure contracts

CIBA Grand Prize Ribbons!

We are honored to present the

2019 Chanticleer International Book Awards

Grand Prize Winners 

The 2019 CIBA Winners! 

The CYGNUS Book Awards for Science Fiction Novels

Grand Prize Winner is 


          • J. I. Rogers – The Korpes Agenda
          • Jacques St-Malo – Cognition
          • Shami Stovall – Star Marque Rising   
          • Rey Clark – Titan Code Series: Dawn of Genesis
          •  Paul Werner – Mustang Bettie 
          • Robert M. Kerns – It Ain’t Over…

The OZMA Book Awards for Fantasy Fiction

Grand Prize Winner is 

Manufactured Witches by Michelle Rene

          • Elana A. Mugdan – Dragon Blood 
          • Noah Lemelson – The Sightless City 
          • KC Cowan & Sara Cole – The Hunt for Winter 
          • Scott Benting – Search for the Armor of God  
          • Dan Zangari & Robert Zangari – A Prince’s Errand   
          • Tim Westover – The Winter Sisters: A Novel

The Paranormal Book Awards for Supernatural Fiction

Grand Prize Winner is

ABIGAIL’S WINDOW by Susan Lynn Solomon

          • Ryan J. Lyons – Drums and Dragons
          • Linda Watkins – The Tao of the Viper
          • Kaylin McFarren – High Flying
          • Palmer Pickering – Moon Deeds
          • Jack Cullen – Runes of Steel
          • Joy Ross Davis – The Witch of Blacklion
          • D. J. Adamson – At The Edge of No Return

The GLOBAL THRILLER Book Awards for High Stakes Thrillers,

Lab Lit, and Suspense Novels

Grand Prize Winner is


by Avanti Centrae

          • Randall Krzak for Carnage in Singapore
          • Courtney Leigh Pahlke for Life Force Preserve
          • Jett Ward for Execute Order
          • Nicole Mabry for Past This Point
          • Joanne Jaytanie for Salvaging Truth: Hunters & Seekers

Clue Awards for Suspense Thriller Novels

The CLUE Book Awards for Thrillers, Suspense, Legal, Detective, and Procedural Crime Novels

Grand Prize Winner is 

SALVAGING TRUTH by Joanne Jaytanie

          • John W Feist for Blind Trust
          • Nancy Adair for RABYA     
          • Janet K. Shawgo for Legacy of Lies 
          • V. & D. Povall for Jackal in the Mirror
          • Marian Exall for A Splintered Step 
          • J.P. Kenna for Joel Emmanuel   

Cozy Mystery Fiction Award

The M & M Book Awards for Mystery & Mayhem for

Cozy and Not-So-Cozy Mysteries

Grand Prize Winner is

Dharma, A Rekha Rao Mystery by Vee Kumari 

          • Susan Lynn Solomon  for Writing is Murder
          • Kari Bovee for Girl with a Gun
          • Susan Z. Ritz for A Dream to Die For
          • MJ O’Neill for The Corpse Wore Stilettos
          • Henry G. Brinton for City of Peace
          • M. J. Simms-Maddox for Mystery in Harare
          • Liese Sherwood-Fabre for The Adventure of the Murdered Midwife 
          • Michelle Cox for A Veil Removed

Congratulations to ALL!

We will email each winner with more information about their prize packages and more information.

Be sure to FOLLOW and LIKE us Facebook and on Twitter @ChantiReviews

Please standby for our next posts that will honor:

  • Laramie Book Award Winners
  • Chaucer Book Award Winners
  • Goethe Book Award Winners
  • Little Peeps Book Award Winners
  • Gertrude Warner Book Award Winners
  • Dante Rossetti Book Award Winners
  • Chatelaine Book Award Winners
  • Somerset Book Award Winners
  • Journey Book Award Winners
  • Nellie Bly Book Award Winners
  • Instructional and Insight Book Award Winners

And the OVERALL GRAND PRIZE for the 2019 CIBAs!

PART TWO of the 2019 Chanticleer International Book Award Winners

We are now accepting entries into the 2020 and 2021 Chanticleer International Book Awards.

Click here for more information and submission deadlines:

As always, if you have any questions, concerns, or suggestions, please email us at   We will try to respond within 3 business days.

Thank you for joining us in celebrating the 2019 CIBA Winners! – The Chanticleer Team