Listen to or download this article:

Cygnus Award for Science Fiction

The Cygnus Book Awards recognize emerging new talent and outstanding works in the genre of Science Fiction, Steampunk, Alternative History, and Speculative Fiction. The Cygnus Awards is a genre division of Chanticleer International Book Awards and Novel Competitions (the CIBAs).


Chanticleer International Book Awards is looking for the best books featuring space, time travel, life on other planets, parallel universes, alternate reality, and all the science, technology, major social or environmental changes of the future that author imaginations can dream up. Hard Science Fiction, Soft Science Fiction, Apocalyptic Fiction, Cyberpunk, Time Travel, Genetic Modification, Aliens, Super Humans, Interplanetary Travel, and Settlers on the Galactic Frontier, Dystopian, our judges from across North America and the U.K. will put them to the test and choose the best among them.

These titles have moved forward in the judging rounds from all 2020 CYGNUS entries  to the 2020 Cygnus Book Awards LONG LIST. These entries are now in competition for 2020 Cygnus Shortlist. The Short Listers will compete for the Semi-Finalists positions. Semi-Finalists will be announced and recognized at the CAC20 banquet and ceremony. The First Place Category Winners, along with the CIBA Division Grand Prize winners, will be selected from the 17 CIBA divisions Semi-Finalists. We will announce the 1st Place Category winners and Grand Prize Division Winners at the CIBAs Banquet and Ceremony on Saturday, April 18th, 2021 at the luxurious Hotel Bellwether in Bellingham, Wash. at the 2021 Chanticleer Authors Conference–whether virtual, hybrid, or in-person. 

These titles are in the running for the SHORT LIST of the 2020 Cygnus Book Awards novel competition for Science Fiction!

Join us in cheering on the following authors and their works!

  • Brent Golembiewski – Flat Earth
  • Jonas Saul – The Immortal Gene
  • Tiffany Meuret – A Flood of Posies
  • R. Welsh – The Great Filter
  • Mark T. Sneed – Bully Nation
  • Brooke Skipstone – Some Laneys Died
  • B.T. Keaton – Transference
  • Mark D. Owen – Impact
  • JL Morin – Loveoid
  • A.P. Gessner – Morlock
  • Charis Himeda – CRISPR Evolution
  • Kononstantinos Grosomanidis – a Journey, a Message, a Tale
  • Bryan K. Prosek – Paradoxal
  • R.S. Harmon – Captain’s Covenant
  • Liam King – Grit
  • Jim and Stephanie Kroepfl – Merged
  • Anastasia Fox – Trout Fishing in the Cretaceous 
  • T Alex Ratcliffe – Battle Games
  • Timothy S. Johnston – The Savage Deeps
  • Alex McIntosh – Upstream Revolt
  • Samuel Finn – A Voice From The Moon
  • Mike Meier – JoinWith.Me
  • Palmer Pickering – Moon Deeds
  • C. Hofsetz – Enemy of the Gods
  • Ted Neill – Reaper Moon: Race War in the Post Apocalypse
  • Palmer Pickering – Moon Deeds
  • C. Hofsetz – Enemy of the Gods
  • Ronald Dunham – Tower of Brahma
  • Dr. Anay Ayarovu – STAZR the World Of Z: The Dawn of Athir
  • PA Vasey – Trinity’s Fall
  • Rhett C. Bruno & Jaime Castle – The Luna Missile Crisis
  • William X. Adams – Alien Body
  • KeJo Black – A Kingdom in Shards
  • Denis Olasehinde Akinmolasire – The Mission to End Slavery
  • C.M. Aquavella – Transformation: The Circusity
  • J.T. Blossom – Lenore and the Problem With Love – When You Go to College Save the Planet
  • Alexander Usher – Experience Extracted
  • Russ Colson – The Arasmith Certainty Principle
  • Zach Fortier – Volk: Book one of The Overseer series
  • Scott Woodward – Those Inbetween
  • Cary Allen Stone – SEEDS: The Journey Begins
  • Susan Wingate – The Lesser Witness
  • Dennis M. Clausen – The Accountant’s Apprentice
  • Courtney Leigh Pahlke – Life Force Preserve
  • Marc Corwin – The Optical Lasso
  • Alan J. Steinberg – To be Enlightened
  • Michelle Tanmizi – Late Dawn

Good luck to all as your works move on the next rounds of judging.

We are now accepting submissions into the 2021 CYGNUS  Awards writing competition. The deadline for submissions is April 30th, 2021. 

Please click here for more information.