Geoffrey-Chaucer-9245691-1-402The Chaucer Awards recognize new and outstanding works in the genre of Historical Fiction Novels.



Chanticleer Book Reviews is honored to announce the First Place Category Winners for the Chaucer Awards 2013, the Historical Fiction Genre Division of the Chanticleer Blue Ribbon Award Writing Competitions.

The 1st Place Category winners have completed another four rounds of judging. These works have been read cover-to-cover and have garnered the most votes for the category into which the work was entered.

The Overall First Place Genre Winner for the Chaucer Awards 2013 is:

Sean Curley, Propositum

First Place Category Winners for the Chaucer Awards 2013 are:

Adventure/Young Adult:  I, Walter by Mike Hartner

N.A. Western:  Crossing Purgatory by Gary Schanbacher

World War II (European):  Deal with the Devil by J. Gunner Grey

Adventure/Romance/YA: “Lady Blade” by C.J. Thrush

Nordic History:  The Jossing Affair by J.L.Oakley

Regency:  Traitor’s Gate by David Chacko & Alexander Kulcsar

Women’s Fiction/WWII: Wait for Me  by Janet K. Shawgo

Medieval/Dark Ages: Divine Vengeance by David Koons

Legacy/Legend: Propositum by Sean Curley

Women’s Fiction/World History: Daughters of India by Kavita Jade


First place category winners competed for the Overall First Place Genre winner for the Chaucer Awards 2013.

1st Place Overall Genre winners then competed for the position of Chanticleer Book Reviews Grand Prize 2013 Blue Ribbon for Best Book.

Chanticleer Book Reviews Best Books will be announced and winners will receive their awards at the CBR Banquet in June 2014.

The deadline for submitting entries to the Chaucer Awards 2013 was June 30, 2013, midnight.

The Official List of Finalists for the Chaucer Awards was posted on Oct. 1, 2013.

We are now accepting submissions to the Chaucer Awards 2015 writing competition.  Enter Here

Again, congratulations to all the authors whose work made it into the Official Chaucer Awards 2013 Finalists shortlist.

Chanticleer Book Reviews & Media retains the right to not declare “default winners.” Winning works are decided upon merit only. Please visit our Contest Details page for more information about our writing contest guidelines.

CBR’s rigorous writing competition standards are the reason literary agencies seek out our winning manuscripts and self-published novels. Our high standards are also the reason our reviews are trusted among booksellers and book distributors.

Please do not hesitate to contact about any questions, concerns, or suggestions about CBR writing competitions. Your input is important to us.