Pre 1750 Historical Fiction AwardThe CHAUCER Writing Competition recognizes emerging new talent and outstanding works in the genre of pre-1750s Historical Fiction. The Chaucer Awards is a division of Chanticleer International Novel Writing Competitions.

More than $30,000.00 dollars worth of cash and prizes will be awarded to Chanticleer Book Reviews 2016 writing competition winners at the Chanticleer Authors Conference April 1, 2017!

Because we received an unprecedented amount of entries for the 2015 Chaucer Awards we divided the writing competition into two separate awards for 2016: The Chaucer Awards for pre-1750’s historical fiction and the Goethe Awards for post-1750 historical fiction.  We have moved entries that are post 1750 to the 2016 Goethe Awards tracking and judging rounds.

This is the Official Semi-Finalists List of the Authors and Titles of Works that have been SHORT-LISTED for the Chaucer 2016 Novel Writing Contest.

NOTE: This list is COMPLETE as of January 28, 2017.

The Chaucer Awards FIRST IN CATEGORY sub-genres  are:  Pre-Historical Fiction, Ancient Historical Fiction, World/International History (non-western culture historical fiction), Americas-Historical Fiction Pre-1750s, Dark Ages/Medieval, Renaissance, and Elizabethan/Tudor 1600’s.

Chanticleer Short List

The following Short-Listed titles will compete for the 5 First Place Category Positions and Awards Packages.

  • Hana Samek Norton – The Serpent’s Crown: A Novel of Medieval Cyprus
  • Kate Braithwaite – Charlatan
  • Sandra Vasoli – Truth Endures: Je Anne Boleyn Book Two #2
  • Lorraine Buck – The Last Rosary
  • Gina M. Bright – 1381: The Forgotten Revolt
  • H.J. Reynolds – A Treachery of Spies
  • Michal Strutin – Judging Noa: a Biblical Woman’s Journey
  • Lilian Gafni – The New World: Flower from Castile
  • Catherine T Wilson and Catherine A Wilson – The Gilded Crown
  • Bruce Gardner – Hope of Ages Past
  • Helena P. Schrader – Envoy of Jerusalem: – Balian d’Ibelin and the Third Crusade
  • Gail Avery Halverson – The Boundary Stone
  • Carol Cram – The Towers of Tuscany 
  • James Conroyd Martin – The Boy Who Wanted Wings

These Chaucer Semi-Finalists will compete for the Chaucer Awards First In Category Positions, which consists of Four Judging Rounds.  First Place Category Book Award winners will automatically be entered into the Chaucer GRAND PRIZE AWARD competition, which has a cash prize of $200. The CBR Grand Prize Genre Winners will compete for the CBR Overall Grand Prize for Best Book and its $1,000 purse.   

  • All Short-Listed authors who attend #CAC17 will be recognized on stage at the awards ceremony and will receive high visibility along with special badges to wear during the Chanticleer Authors Conference and Awards Gala.

As always, please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions, concerns, or suggestions at 

Congratulations to the all the 2016 Chaucer Finalists.  

Good Luck to all of the Chaucer Semi-Finalists as they compete for the First Place Category positions.

First In Category announcements will be made at the Awards Ceremony. The Chaucer Grand Prize Winner and First Place Category Winners will be announced at the April 1st,  2017 Chanticleer Writing Contests Annual Awards Gala, which takes place on the last evening of the Chanticleer Authors Conference that will be held in Bellingham, Wash. 

We are now accepting submissions into the 2017 Chaucer Awards and the Goethe Awards writing competitions for Historical Fiction. Please click here for more information or to enter the contests.