Post 1750s Historical Fiction AwardThe Goethe Novel Writing Competition recognizes emerging new talent and outstanding works in the genre of post-1750s Historical Fiction. The Goethe Awards is a division of Chanticleer International Novel Writing Competitions.

More than $30,000.00 dollars worth of cash and prizes are awarded to Chanticleer Book Reviews 2016 writing competition winners at the Chanticleer Authors Conference April 1, 2017!

Because we received an unprecedented amount of entries for the 2015 Chaucer Awards we divided the writing competition into two separate awards for 2016: The Chaucer Awards for pre-1750’s historical fiction and the Goethe Awards for post-1750 historical fiction.  We have moved entries that are post 1750 to the 2016 Goethe Awards tracking and judging rounds.

This is the Official Semi-Finalists List of the Authors and Titles of Works that have made it to the Short-List of the Goethe 2016 Novel Writing Contest.

The Goethe Awards FIRST IN CATEGORY sub-genres are: Regency, Victorian, 1700s/1800s, Turn of the Century, 20th Century, World Wars and Other Wars, World/International History post-1750, and U.S. History.

Chanticleer Short List

The following Semi-Finalists titles will compete for the FIRST IN CATEGORY Positions and Book Awards Packages in the 2016 Goethe Book Awards:

  • Carrie Kwiatkowski – Running Before the Wind
  • Amy Wolf – The Misses Bronte’s Establishment
  • Linda Cardillo – The Boat House Cafe
  • Elizabeth Crowens – Silent Meridian
  • J.L. Oakley – The Jossing Affair
  • Duncan Stewart – In Their Finest Hour
  • Darryl Wimberley – A Seeping Wound
  • A.B. Michaels – The Depth of Beauty
  • Michael Sheahan – The Sean
  • Vanda – Juliana
  • S. Thomas Bailey – Blind Faith-The Gauntlet Runner
  • Connie Hertzberg Mayo – The Island of Worthy Boys
  • Carol M. Cram – A Woman of Note
  • Teresa Healy Janssen – The Ways of Water
  • Eleanor Webster – No Conventional Miss
  • C.T. Wells – The Kingdom of the Air
  • Ivan Light – Deadly Secret of the Lusitania
  • Darryl Wimberley – Paul Bunyan
  • Tom Glenn – The Last of the Annamese
  • M.C. Nelson – Chrysalis: A Novel
  • Brigitte Goldstein – Death of a Diva–From Berlin to Broadway
  • David Selcer – Lincoln’s Hat 
  • Lucinda Brant – Deadly Affair: A Georgian Historical Mystery

The Goethe Semi-Finalists will compete for the Goethe Awards First In Category Positions, which consists of Four Judging Rounds.  First Place Category Book Award winners will automatically be entered into the Goethe GRAND PRIZE AWARD competition, which has a cash prize of $200. The CBR Grand Prize Genre Winners will compete for the CBR Overall Grand Prize for Best Book and its $1,000 purse.   

  • All Semi-Finalists Award Winners will receive high visibility along with special badges to wear during the Chanticleer Authors Conference and Awards Gala.
  • Digital book award stickers for on-line promotion
  • Adhesive book stickers
  • Shelf-talkers and other promotional items
  • Promotion in on-line media

As always, please do not hesitate to contact us  at with any questions, concerns, or suggestions.

Congratulations to the Goethe Finalists in this fiercely competitive contest! 

Good Luck to all the Goethe Semi-Finalists as they compete for the coveted First Place Category  positions.

The 2016 Goethe Grand Prize Winner and First Place Category Winners will be announced at the April 1st,  2017 Chanticleer Writing Contests Annual Awards Gala, which takes place on the last evening of the Chanticleer Authors Conference to be held in Bellingham, Wash. 

We are now accepting submissions for the 2017 Chaucer Awards and the Goethe Awards writing competitions for Historical Fiction. Please click here for more information or to enter the contests.