Cygnus Award for Science FictionWe are excited and honored to officially announce the Grand Prize Winner and the First Place Category Winners for the 2017 CYGNUS Book Awards for Science Fiction Novels at the fifth annual Chanticleer Authors Conference and the sixth annual Chanticleer Book Awards Ceremony. This year’s ceremony and banquet were held on Saturday, April 21st, 2018 at the Hotel Bellwether by beautiful Bellingham Bay, Wash.

We want to thank all of those who entered and participated in the  2017 Cygnus Book Awards for Science Fiction, a division of the Chanticleer  International Book Awards.

When we receive the digital photographs from the Official CAC18 photographer, we will post them here and on the complete announcement that will list all the genres and the Overall Grand Prize Winner for the 2017 Chanticleer International Book Awards. Please check back!

Click here for the link to the 2017 Cygnus Shortlisters! An email will go out within three weeks to all Shortlisters with links to digital badges and how to order Shortlister stickers.

James Wells, the author of the 2015 Cygnus Grand Prize Winner, The Great Symmetry,  announced the First Place Award Winners and the Grand Prize Winner for the 2017 CYGNUS Book Awards at the Chanticleer Awards Banquet and Ceremony.

Congratulations to the First Place Category Winners of the 2017 Cygnus Book Awards for Science Fiction. 

An email will go out to all First Place Category Winners and Grand Prize Winners with more information, the timing of awarded reviews, links to digital badges, and more by May 21st, 2018 (four weeks after the awards ceremony). Please look for it.

2017 Cygnus Book Awards for Science Fiction First in Category Winners

  • First Command by Michael Simon
  • The Last Detective by Brian Cohn
  • Oort Rising by Magnus Victor
  • The Future’s Dark Past by John Yarrow
  • Breaching The Parallel by MW Anderson
  • Strain of Resistance by Michelle Bryan

Honorable Mentions:

  • Children of the New World by Alexander Weinstein (a short story collection)
  • The Power of Three: The Novel of a Whale, a Woman, and an Alien Child by Cathy Parker

And now for the 2017 CYGNUS Grand Prize Book Award Winner for Science Fiction:

The Future’s Dark Past

by John Yarrow


This post will be updated with photos. Please do visit it again!

The last date for submissions for the 2018 Cygnus Book Awards is April 30, 2018 Midnight (PST),

Our next Chanticleer International Book Awards Banquet will be held on Saturday, April 20th, 2019, for the 2018 winners. Enter your book or manuscript in a contest today!