Gertrude Warner Children's Chapter BooksWe are excited and honored to officially announce the Grand Prize Winner and the First Place Category Winners for the 2017 Gertrude Warner Book Awards for Middle-Grade Readers Novels at the fifth annual Chanticleer Authors Conference and Chanticleer Book Awards Ceremony. This year’s ceremony and banquet were held on Saturday, April 21st, 2018 at the Hotel Bellwether by beautiful Bellingham Bay, Wash.

We want to thank all of those who entered and participated in the  2017 Gertrude Warner Book Awards for Middle-Grade Readers, a division of the Chanticleer International Book Awards.

When we receive the digital photographs from the Official CAC18 photographer, we will post them here and on the complete announcement that will list all the genres and the Overall Grand Prize Winner for the 2017 Chanticleer International Book Awards. Please check back!

Click here for the link to the 2017 Gertrude Warner Shortlisters! An email will go out within three weeks to all Shortlisters with links to digital badges and how to order Shortlister stickers. Congratulations to the 2017 Gertrude Warner SHORTLISTERS!

Susan Faw, the author of the 2016 Dante Rossetti Grand Prize Winner, Seer of Souls,  announced the First Place Award Winners and the Grand Prize Winner for the 2017 Gertrude Warner Book Awards at the Chanticleer Awards Banquet and Ceremony.

Congratulations to the First Place Category Winners of the 2017 Gertrude Warner Book Awards for Middle-Grade Books. 

An email will go out to all First Place Category Winners and Grand Prize Winners with more information, the timing of awarded reviews, links to digital badges, and more by May 21st, 2018 (four weeks after the awards ceremony). Please look for it.

2017 Gertrude Warner Book Awards for Middle-Grade Readers First in Category Winners are: 

  • The Supernatural Pet Sitter by Diane Moat
  • Bryce Bumps His Head by Robert D. Calkins
  • Brainwashed: The Crime Travelers Series by Paul Aertker
  • The Queen and Knights of Nor by Rebekah Stelzer/R.L.Stelzer
  • Lucky Rocks by Murray Richter
  • Flowerantha by Bek Castro
  • The Strange Case of Mr. Beets by A Pharmacist on a Yak (Anand Vora)  

And now for the 2017 Gertrude Warner Grand Prize Book Award Winner for Middle-Grade Fiction:


Brainwashed: Crime Travelers Spy School Series

by Paul Aertker





This post will be updated with photos. Please do visit it again!

The submission deadline for the 2018 Gertrude Warner Book Awards is May 31, 2018.

Our next Chanticleer International Book Awards Banquet will be held on Saturday, April 20th, 2019, for the 2018 winners. Enter your book or manuscript in a contest today!