We are excited and honored to officially announce the Grand Prize Winner and the First Place Category Winners for the 2017 LARAMIE Book Awards for Western, Pioneer, and Prairie Fiction at the fifth annual Chanticleer Authors Conference and Chanticleer Book Awards Ceremony. This year’s ceremony and banquet were held on Saturday, April 21st, 2018 at the Hotel Bellwether by beautiful Bellingham Bay, Wash.


We want to thank all of those who entered and participated in the  2017 LARAMIE Book Awards, a division of the Chanticleer  International Book Awards.

When we receive the digital photographs from the Official CAC18 photographer, we will post them here and on the complete announcement that will list all the genres and the Overall Grand Prize Winner for the 2017 Chanticleer International Book Awards. Please check back!

Click here for the link to the 2017 LARAMIE Shortlisters! An email will go out within three weeks to all Shortlisters with links to digital badges and how to order Shortlister stickers.

Congratulations to the 2017 LARAMIE SHORTLISTERS!

Jacquie Rogers, the author of the 2016 Laramie Grand Prize Winner Honey Beaulieu, Man Hunter,  announced the First Place Award Winners and the Grand Prize Winner for the 2017 LARAMIE Book Awards at the Chanticleer Awards Banquet and Ceremony.

Congratulations to the First Place Category Winners of the 2017  LARAMIE Book Awards. 

An email will go out to all First Place Category Winners and Grand Prize Winners with more information, the timing of awarded reviews, links to digital badges, and more by May 21st, 2018 (four weeks after the awards ceremony). Please look for it.

2017 LARAMIE Book Awards First in Category Winners for Western Fiction are:


Laramie First Place Award winners

  • Grasshoppers at Dusk by Kiki Watkins
  • Mist-chi-mus: A Novel of Captivity by J.L. Oakley
  • Sacrificial Lions by John Simons/David Simons
  • The Hour Glass by Michelle Rene
  • Away at War: A Civil War Story of the Family Left Behind by Nick K. Adams
  • Threads of Passion by T.K. Conklin
  • Desertion by Michael Aloysius O’Reilly
  • Death in the Black Patch by Bruce Wilson     


 And now for the 2017 LARAMIE Grand Prize Winner for Western Fiction:


by Michelle Rene

CIBA Overall Grand Prize Winner and Laramie Grand Prize Winner











The deadline to submit to the 2018 LARAMIE Book Awards is July 31, 2018.

Our next Chanticleer International Book Awards Banquet will be held on Saturday, April 20th, 2019, for the 2018 winners. Enter your book or manuscript in a contest today!