GOETHE Book Awards for Post-1750s Historic Fiction – Long List (aka Slush Pile Survivors)

Post 1750s Historical Fiction AwardThe Goethe Book Awards recognize emerging new talent and outstanding works in the genre of Late Historical Fiction set after the 1750s. The Goethe Book  Awards is a genre division of Chanticleer International Book Awards (#CIBA).

Chanticleer Book Reviews is looking for the best books featuring Late Period Historical Fiction. Regency, Victorian,18th Century, 19th Century, 20th Century, World and other wars, history of non-western cultures, set after the 1750s, we will put them to the test and choose the best among them. (Looking for Chaucer Pre-1750 Book Awards or Laramie Western/Pioneer/Civil War Book Awards, just click on the links.)

Information about  the #CIBA Long Lists and Short Lists

These titles have moved forward in the judging rounds from SLUSH pile to the 2018 GOETHE Book Awards LONG LIST (aka the Slush Pile Survivors). We incorporate the Long List when the judges request an additional round of judging to accommodate the number and/or quality of entries received.  These entries are now in competition for the 2018 GOETHE SHORT LIST. Short Listers will compete for the Semi-Finalists positions. Semi-Finalists will compete for the coveted First  Place Category Winners of the 2018 GOETHE Book Awards in the final rounds of judging.  The First Place Category winners will automatically be entered into the Goethe GRAND PRIZE AWARD competition.  The 16 CBR Grand Prize Genre Winners will compete for the CBR Overall Grand Prize for Best Book and its $1,000 purse. First Place Category and Grand Prize Awards will be announced and recognized at the Chanticleer Awards Banquet and Ceremony on Saturday, April 27th, 2019, Bellingham, Washington.

These titles are in the running for the SHORT LIST of the 2018 GOETHE Book Awards novel competition for post-1750s Post Historical Novels.

  • Peter Curtis – Cafe Budapest
  • Michelle Cox – A Promise Given
  • Bruce Joel Brittain – Brother Daniel’s Good News Revival
  • Patricia Suprenant – Behind the Scarlet Letter
  • Patricia Suprenant – Journey to the Isle of Devils
  • Harold Coyle – No Small Thing, A Novel of the American Revolution
  • John Hansen – Unfortunate Words
  • Trevor D’Silva – Fateful Decisions
  • K. M. Sandrick – The Pear Tree
  • John Thomas Everett – No Slave To Reason
  • Tom Edwards – Jane Sinclair 
  • Jackie Jobe Haines – Little Mill on Beaver Creek
  • Ruth Hull Chatlien – Blood Moon: A Captive’s Tale
  • Richard Alan – American Journeys: From Ireland to the Pacific Northwest (1854-1900) Book 2
  • Richard Alan – A Female Doctor in the Civil War
  • J.P. Kenna – Allurement Westward
  • Jocelyn Cullity – Amah & the Silk-Winged Pigeons
  • J.L. Oakley – Mist-chi-mas: A Novel of Captivity
  • Ellen Notbohm – The River by Starlight
  • J. R. Collins – Living Where the Rabbits Dance
  • Josanna Thompson – A Maiden’s Honor
  • Carol M. Cram – The Muse of Fire 
  • Noelle Clark – Stone of Heaven and Earth
  • Rosalind Spitzer – Anna’s Home
  • Neal Katz – Scandalous, The Victoria Woodhull Saga, Volume II: Fame, Infamy, and Paradise Lost
  • Rita Dragonette – The Fourteenth of September
  • Sharon Hart-Green – Come Back for Me: A Novel
  • Meredith Pechta – The Prejudice That Divides Us
  • Jeffrey K. Walker – Truly Are the Free
  • Jeffrey K. Walker – None of Us the Same
  • Ronald E. Yates – The Lost Years of Billy Battles (Book 3, Finding Billy Battles Trilogy)
  • J. Victor Tomaszek – The Tatra Eagle
  • Pat Wahler – I am Mrs. Jesse James
  • R. S. Rowland – Portrait of a Bitter Spy
  • Kit Sergeant – 355: The Women of Washington’s Spy Ring

All Short Listers and SemiFinalists will receive high visibility along with special badges to wear during the Chanticleer Authors Conference and Awards Gala.

Good Luck to each of you as your works compete for the GOETHE Awards Short List. 

2017 Goethe Book Awards Winners Joe Vitovic & Peter Greene Grand Prize


To view the 2017 Goethe Book Awards winners, please click here.

The Goethe Grand Prize Winner and the First Place Category Position award winners will be announced at the April 27th, 2019 Chanticleer Book Awards Annual Awards Gala, which takes place at the Chanticleer Authors Conference that will be held in Bellingham, Wash. 

We are now accepting submissions into the 2019 GOETHE Book Awards writing competition. The deadline for submissions is June 30th, 2019. Please click here for more information. 

As always, please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions, concerns, or suggestions at Info@ChantiReviews.com. 

2018-09-14T00:57:10-07:00By |

Leave A Comment