Post 1750s Historical Fiction AwardThe Goethe Book Awards recognize emerging new talent and outstanding works in the genre of Late Historical Fiction set after the 1750s. The Goethe Book  Awards is a genre division of Chanticleer International Book Awards (#CIBA).




Chanticleer Book Reviews is looking for the best books featuring Late Period Historical Fiction. Regency, Victorian,18th Century, 19th Century, 20th Century, World and other wars, history of non-western cultures, set after the 1750s, we will put them to the test and choose the best among them. (Looking for Chaucer Pre-1750 Book Awards or Laramie Western/Pioneer/Civil War Book Awards, just click on the links.)

These Semi-Finalists will compete for the coveted five positions of the First  Place Category Winners of the 2018 GOETHE Book Awards in the final rounds of judging.  The First Place Category winners will automatically be entered into the Goethe GRAND PRIZE AWARD competition.  The 16 CBR Grand Prize Genre Winners will compete for the CBR Overall Grand Prize for Best Book and its $1,000 purse. First Place Category and Grand Prize Awards will be announced and recognized at the Chanticleer Awards Banquet and Ceremony on Saturday, April 27th, 2019, Bellingham, Washington.

These titles are in the running for the limited First Place positions of the 2018 GOETHE Book Awards novel competition for post-1750s Post Historical Novels.

All Semi-Finalists will be recognized at the 2019 Chanticleer Authors Conference and CIBA Banquet & Ceremony.

Good luck to all in these next final rounds of judging to see which titles will move forward.


  • Carol M. Cram – The Muse of Fire
  • J.L. Oakley – Mist-chi-mas: A Novel of Captivity
  • J. R. Collins – Living Where the Rabbits Dance
  • Jocelyn Cullity – Amah & the Silk-Winged Pigeons
  • Ellen Notbohm – The River by Starlight
  • Richard Alan –  A Female Doctor in the Civil War 
  • Josanna Thompson – A Maiden’s Honor
  • Rosalind Spitzer – Anna’s Home
  • Jeffrey K. Walker – None of Us the Same
  • Ronald E. Yates – The Lost Years of Billy Battles (Book 3, Finding Billy Battles Trilogy)
  • Kit Sergeant – 355: The Women of Washington’s Spy Ring
  • R. S. Rowland – Portrait of a Bitter Spy
  • Ruth Hull Chatlien – Blood Moon: A Captive’s Tale
  • John Hansen – Unfortunate Words
  • Patricia Suprenant – Behind the Scarlet Letter
  • Michelle Cox – A Promise Given 
  • Tom Edwards – Jane Sinclair
  • K. M. Sandrick – The Pear Tree

All Short Listers and SemiFinalists will receive high visibility along with special badges to wear during the Chanticleer Authors Conference and Awards Gala.

Good Luck to each of you as your works competes for the 2018 GOETHE  Book Awards First Place positions and the Goethe 2018 Grand Prize.  

To view the 2017 Goethe Book Awards winners, please click here.

The Goethe Grand Prize Winner and the First Place Category Position award winners will be announced at the April 27th, 2019 Chanticleer Book Awards Annual Awards Gala, which takes place at the Chanticleer Authors Conference that will be held in Bellingham, Wash. 

We are now accepting submissions into the 2019 GOETHE Book Awards writing competition. The deadline for submissions is June 30th, 2019. Please click here for more information. 

As always, please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions, concerns, or suggestions at