Listen to or download this article:

Gertrude Warner Children's Chapter BooksWe are excited and honored to officially announce the Grand Prize Winner and the First Place Category Winners for the 2018 Gertrude Warner Book Awards at the annual Chanticleer Authors Conference and the 2018 Chanticleer International Book Awards ceremony. This year’s ceremony and banquet were held on Saturday, April 27th, 2019 at the Hotel Bellwether by beautiful Bellingham Bay, Wash.

We want to thank all of those who entered and participated in the  2018 Gertrude Warner Book Awards for Middle-Grade Readers, a division of the Chanticleer International Book Awards.

Denise Ditto Satterfield, the author of the Bettina’s Best First Day, The Tooth Collector Fairies, Grand Prize Winner of the Little Peeps Book Awards for Early Readers (CIBA),  announced the First Place Award Winners at the Chanticleer International Book Awards Banquet and Ceremony.

 PublishDrive and Hindenburg Systems awarded additional prizes to the 2018 Gertrude Warner Book Award winners. Thank you!

2018 Gertrude Warner Book Awards for Middle-Grade Readers First in Category Winners

  • Keelic and the Pathfinders of Midgarth by Alexander Edlund
  • Guinevere: At the Dawn of Legend by Cheryl Carpinello
  • The Portals of Peril by Jules Luther
  • From the Shadows by KB Shaw
  • Tallulah’s Flying Adventure by Gloria Two-Feathers
  • Vampire Boy by Aric Cushing
  • The Adventures of Rug Bug by Kay M. Bates

Congratulations to the First Place Category Winners of the 2018 Gertrude Warner Book Awards! 

And now for the Gertrude Warner Book Awards  GRAND PRIZE WINNER for Middle-Grade Readers


The PORTALS of PERIL by Jules Luther took home the Gertrude Warner Book Awards for Middle-Grade Readers

An email will go out to all First Place Category Winners and Grand Prize Winners with more information, the timing of awarded reviews, links to digital badges, and more before May 31st, 2019 (approximately four weeks after the awards ceremony). Please look for it in your email inbox.

When we receive the digital photographs from the Official CAC19 professional photographer, Dwayne Rogge of Photo Treehouse, we will post the Gertrude Warner award winners on this page.

Click here for the link to the 2018 Gertrude Warner Semi-Finalists.

This post will be updated with photos and more information. Please do visit it again!

The deadline for submissions into the 2019 Gertrude Warner Book Awards May 31, 2019 Midnight (PST).

Our next Chanticleer International Book Awards Ceremony will be held on Saturday, April 18th, 2020, for the 2019 CIBA winners. Enter your book or manuscript in a contest today!

As always, please contact me directly at with any questions, concerns, or suggestions.