Listen to or download this article:

Cygnus Award for Science FictionThe Cygnus Book Awards recognize emerging new talent and outstanding works in the genre of Science Fiction, Steampunk, Alternative History, and Speculative Fiction. The Cygnus Awards is a genre division of Chanticleer International Book Awards and Novel Competitions (The CIBAs).


Chanticleer International Book Awards is looking for the best books featuring space, time travel, life on other planets, parallel universes, alternate reality, and all the science, technology, major social or environmental changes of the future that author imaginations can dream up for the CYGNUS Book Awards division. Hard Science Fiction, Soft Science Fiction, Apocalyptic Fiction, Cyberpunk, Time Travel, Genetic Modification, Aliens, Super Humans, Interplanetary Travel, and Settlers on the Galactic Frontier, Dystopian, our judges from across North America and the U.K. will put them to the test and choose the best among them.

The 2019 CIBAs received an unprecedented number of entries making this book awards program even more competitive. More entries along with more competitive works makes the final rounds of judging even more demanding. The judges have requested a new level of achievement to be added to the rounds to acknowledge the entries that they deemed should receive a high level of recognition.

We decided that this was the time to incorporate the new level – The FINALISTS – as requested by the CIBA judges. This new level will be incorporated into the 2019 CIBAs Levels of Achievement.  The FINALISTS were selected from the entries that advanced to the 2019 CYGNUS Semi-Finalists level. 

Congratulations to the 2019 CYGNUS Book Awards FINALISTS!

  • David C. Crowther – City of Drowned Angels
  • William X. Adams – Intelligent Things  
  • J. I. Rogers – The Korpes Agenda    
  • Erick Mars & Mike Wood – A Legacy of Wrath
  • Rey Clark – Titan Code: Dawn of Genesis 
  • Trever Bierschbach – Embers of Liberty  
  • Tim Cole – Insynnium  
  • Shami Stovall – Star Marque Rising  
  • Sandra J. Jackson – Playing in the Rain  
  • Samuel Winburn – Ten Directions   
  • Andrew Lucas McIlroy – Earthling  
  • Paul Werner – Mustang Bettie    
  • Jacques St-Malo – Cognition  
  • Timothy S. Johnston – The War Beneath  
  • Robert M. Kerns – It Ain’t Over…
  • Paul Ian Cross – The Lights of Time   
  • Lawrence Brown – David: Savakerrva, Vol. 1      

Congratulations to all whose works have advanced to the FINALISTS level. 

All Semi-Finalists and Finalists will be recognized at the 2020 Chanticleer Authors Conference and the 2019 CIBA banquet and ceremony.

Good luck to all as your works move on the next rounds of judging for the limited 2019 1st Place Category Positions and the 2019 CYGNUS Book Awards Grand Prize.


The 2019 CYGNUS Grand Prize Winner and the Five First Place Category Position award winners along with the FINALISTS and Semi-Finalists will be recognized at the Sept 5, 2020 Chanticleer International Book Awards Annual Awards Gala, which takes place at the Chanticleer Authors Conference,  Bellingham, Wash. 

Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, CAC20 has been rescheduled from the original date in April to September 4 – 6, 2020 with Master Classes to be held on Thursday, September 3. The CIBA Banquet and Ceremony is scheduled for Saturday, September 5, 2020.

Cygnus Award for Science Fiction


We are now accepting submissions into the 2020 CYGNUS  Awards writing competition. The deadline for submissions is April 30th, 2020. The winners will be announced April 2021.

Please click here for more information.