Listen to or download this article:

The GERTRUDE WARNER Book Awards recognize emerging new talent and outstanding works in the genre of middle-grade readers, fiction and non-fiction, that compel children to read and explore. The Gertrude Warner Book Awards is a division of the Chanticleer International Book Awards (CIBAs).

Named in honor of the author of the quintessential children’s series – The Boxcar Children by  Gertrude Warner.

Chanticleer International Book Awards is looking for the best books featuring stories of all shapes and sizes written to an audience between the ages of about eight to twelve. Submit your Science Fiction, Fantasy, Mystery, Paranormal, Historical, Adventure Middle-Grade stories, and the CIBA judges will evaluate them for the CIBA Levels of Achievement. They will put them to the test and choose the best Middle-Grade Books among them.

The 2019 CIBAs received an unprecedented number of entries making this book awards program even more competitive. More entries along with more competitive works make the final rounds of judging even more demanding. The judges have requested a new level of achievement to be added to the rounds to acknowledge the entries that they deemed should receive a high level of recognition.

We decided that this was the time to incorporate the new level – The FINALISTS – as requested by the CIBA judges. This new level will be incorporated into the 2019 CIBAs Levels of Achievement.  The FINALISTS were selected from the entries that advanced to the 2019 GERTRUDE WARNER Semi-Finalists level. 

Congratulations to the FINALISTS of the 2019 Gertrude Warner Book Awards for Middle-Grade Readers

  • Amber L. Wyss – Phoenix Rising     
  • M.J. Evans – PINTO!   
  • M.J. Evans – The Stone of Wisdom – Book 4 of the Centaur Chronicles
  • Beth Stickley – Tarnation’s Gate    
  • Rey Clark – Legends of the Vale   
  • Laura M. Kemp – Burnt Feathers   
  • Alex Paul – The Valley of Death, Book 5, Arken Freeth and the Adventure of the Neanderthals
  • Joyce Major – The Orangutan Rescue Gang
  • Trayner Bane – Windhollow and the Axe Breaker (Windhollows, Book 3)
  • Carolyn Watkins – The Knock…a collection of childhood memories
  • Liana Gardner – 7th Grade Revolution
  • Nancy McDonald – Boy from Berlin
  • Wendy Leighton-Porter – The Shadow of the Tudor Rose 
  • Kit Bakke – Dancing on the Edge
  • Mobi Warren – The Bee Maker
  • C.R. Stewart – Britfield and the Lost Crown
  • B.L. Smith – Bert Mintenko and the Serious Business

These titles are in the running for the First Place positions of the 2019 Gertrude Warner Book Awards for Middle-Grade Readers.

Good luck to all as your works move on to the next rounds of judging.

The Finalists and the Semi-Finalists will be recognized at the 2020 Chanticleer Authors Conference and  at the 2019 CIBA banquet and ceremony.

The First Place Category Winners, along with the CIBA Division Grand Prize winners, will be selected from the 16 CIBA divisions FINALISTS. We will announce the 1st Place Category winners and Grand Prize Division Winners at the CIBAs Banquet and Ceremony on Saturday, September 5th,  2020 at the luxurious Hotel Bellwether in Bellingham, Wash.

The 16 divisions of the 2019 CIBAs’ Grand Prize Winners and the  First Place Category Position award winners along with recognizing the Semi-Finalists will be announced at the September 5th at the postponed 2020 Chanticleer International Book Awards Annual Awards Gala, which takes place at the Chanticleer Authors Conference that will be held in Bellingham, Wash.



Grand Prize Ribbons!

We are now accepting submissions into the 2020 Gertrude Warner Awards Book Awards. The deadline for submissions is May 31st, 2020. The winners will be announced in April 2021.

Please click here for more information.

Don’t Delay! Enter Today!

As always, please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions, concerns, or suggestions at