OZMA Book Awards 2018 SHORTLIST for Fantasy Fiction – 2018 CIBAs

The OZMA Book Awards recognize emerging talent and outstanding works in the genre of  Fantasy Fiction. The OZMA Book Awards is a genre division of the Chanticleer International Book Awards (The #CIBAs).


Information about the #CIBAs Long Lists and Short Lists and Announcement Rounds.

These titles have moved forward in the judging rounds from SLUSH pile to the 2018 Long List (aka the Slush Pile Survivors) to the Shortlist. We incorporate the Long List when the judges request an additional round of judging to accommodate the number and/or quality of entries received.  These entries are now Shortlisted and are in competition for the 2018 OZMA SemiFinalist positions. The  Semi-Finalists positions will compete for the coveted First  Place Category Winners of the 2018 OZMA Book Awards.

 The 2018  First Place Category Winners and Grand Prize winners will be announced at the Chanticleer Awards Banquet and Ceremony that will be held during the Chanticleer Authors Conference and CIBA Ceremony and Banquet. 

The First Place Category winners will automatically be entered into the OZMA GRAND PRIZE AWARD competition.  The 16 CBR Grand Prize Genre Winners will compete for the CBR Overall Grand Prize for Best Book and its $1,000 purse. First Place Category and Grand Prize Awards will be announced and recognized at the Chanticleer Awards Banquet and Ceremony on Saturday, April 27th, 2019, Bellingham, Washington.

The following works have made it to the 2018  OZMA Book Awards Shortlist Long List:

  • Pamela LePage – Virtuous Souls
  • J.V. Rutz – The Illusion Killer
  • Megan Wong – Island Whispers 
  • Allan Batchelder – Steel, Blood & Fire
  • EA Bishop – RAGNAROK: Demon Seed
  • Daryl Ellerbe – The Amazons   
  • Kristin Secorsky – Dragon Chosen: The Dragon Riders of Eryieth
  • Paul E. Vaughn – Luminess Legends: Dragon Ascendants
  • Kathleen Neeley – Master None
  • Paul E. Vaughn – Luminess Legends: Dragon Ascendants
  • Jennifer Allis Provost – Gallowglass
  • T.K. Riggins – Money Jane
  • Susan Faw – Heart Of Shadra
  • Franklin Posner – Suburban Vampire Ragnarok  
  • Nancy Guild Bendall – Nethermost Regained
  • M. K. Wiseman – The Kithseeker
  • Anthony Nordvik-Nash – Hedda Stein-Sun’s UnRemembered Islands
  • Nancy Guild Bendall – Nethermost Regained  
  • Elana A. Mugdan – Dragon Speaker
  • Elizabeth Crowens – Silent Meridian
  • Lindsay Schopfer – Into the North: A Keltin Moore Adventure
  • Miriam Cumming – Namesakes  
  • Chris Dews – Antler Jinny and the Raven
  • D.M. Cain – A Chronicle of Chaos

To view the 2017 OZMA Book Awards winners, please click here.

To view the 2018 OZMA Book Awards Long List, please click here. 

Grand Prize Ribbons!

The OZMA Grand Prize Winner and the First Place Category Position award winners will be announced at the April 27th, 2019 Chanticleer Book Awards Annual Awards Gala, which takes place at the Chanticleer Authors Conference that will be held in Bellingham, Wash. 

We are now accepting entries into the 2019 OZMA Book Awards for Fantasy Fiction. For more information, please click here.

2019-01-02T16:50:33-08:00By |

Leave A Comment