Listen to or download this article:

The JOURNEY BOOK AWARDS for Narrative Non-Fiction, a division of the Chanticleer International Book Awards.

We are excited and honored to officially announce the Grand Prize Winner and the First Place Category Winners for the 2018 JOURNEY Book Awards for Narrative Non-fiction at the annual Chanticleer Authors Conference and the 2018 Chanticleer International Book Awards ceremony. This year’s ceremony and banquet were held on Saturday, April 27th, 2019 at the Hotel Bellwether by beautiful Bellingham Bay, Wash.

We want to thank all of those who entered and participated in the  2018 Journey Book Awards.

Susan Marie Conrad, the author of the previous Journey Grand Prize Winner, INSIDE: One Woman’s Journey Through the Inside Passageannounced the First Place Award Winners and the Grand Prize Winner for the 2018 JOURNEY Book Awards at the Chanticleer International Book Awards Banquet and ceremony.  

PublishDrive and Hindenburg Systems awarded additional prizes to the 2018 JOURNEY Book Award winners. Thank you!


2018 Journey Book Awards for Narrative Nonfiction First in Category Winners


  • A Quest for Tears: Overcoming a Traumatic Brain Injury by Sean Dwyer
  • From Liberty to Magnolia: In Search of the American Dream by Janice S. Ellis
  • SoulStroller: experiencing the weight, whispers, & wings of the world by Kayce Stevens Hughlett
  • No Tougher Duty, No Greater Honor – a memoir of a Mortuary Affairs Marine by GySgt L. Christian Bussler
  • Goodbye to Main Street by Dennis M. Clausen
  • HENRY: A Polish Swimmer’s True Story of Friendship from Auschwitz to America by Katrina Shawver
  • The Day the Musick Died by Cheryl Hughes Musick     

Honorable Mention:  The Loose Ends Become Knots by Austin M. Hopkins

Congratulations to the First Place Category Winners of the 2018 Journey Book Awards for Narrative Non-Fiction

And now for the JOURNEY Book Awards Grand Prize Winner

From Liberty to Magnolia: In Search of the American Dream by Janice S. Ellis took home the 2018 JOURNEY Book Awards for Narrative Non-Fiction Grand Prize Ribbon! 


An email will go out to all First Place Category Winners and Grand Prize Winners with more information, the timing of awarded reviews, links to digital badges, and more before May 31st, 2019 (approximately four weeks after the awards ceremony). Please look for it in your email inbox.

When we receive the digital photographs from the Official CAC19 professional photographer, Dwayne Rogge of Photo Treehouse, we will post the photographs of the JOURNEY winners on this page.

Click here for the link to the 2018 JOURNEY Semi-Finalists.

This post will be updated with photos and more information. Please do visit it again!

The deadline for submissions has been extended for the  2019 JOURNEY Book Awards is May 15, 2019 Midnight (PST).

Our next Chanticleer International Book Awards Ceremony will be held on Saturday, April 18th, 2020, for the 2019 CIBA winners. Enter your book or manuscript in a contest today!

As always, please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions, concerns, or suggestions at