Listen to or download this article:

Pre 1750 Historical Fiction AwardThe CHAUCER Book Awards recognize emerging new talent and outstanding works in pre-1750s Historical Fiction. The CHAUCER Book Awards is a division of the Chanticleer International Book Awards (The CIBAs).

The Chaucer Book Awards competition is named for Geoffrey Chaucer the author of the legendary Canterbury Tales. The work is considered to be one of the greatest works in the English language. It was among the first non-secular books written in Middle English to be printed in 1483.


Chanticleer International Book Awards is seeking the best books featuring Pre-1750s Historical Fiction, including pre-history, ancient history, Classical, world history (non-western culture), Dark Ages and Medieval Europe, Renaissance, Elizabethan, Tudor, 1600s. Our judges will read them to discover the best among them. The CIBAs discover today’s best books! 


The 2019 CIBAs received an unprecedented number of entries making this book awards program even more competitive. More entries along with more competitive works make the final rounds of judging even more demanding. The judges have requested a new level of achievement to be added to the rounds to acknowledge the entries that they deemed should receive a high level of recognition.

We decided that this was the time to incorporate the new level – The FINALISTS – as requested by the CIBA judges. This new level will be incorporated into the 2019 CIBAs Levels of Achievement.  The FINALISTS were selected from the entries that advanced to the 2019 CHAUCER Book Awards Semi-Finalists. 

Congratulations to the 2019 CHAUCER Book Awards FINALISTS

  • James Conroyd Martin – Fortune’s Child: A Novel of Empress Theodora   
  • Gail Avery Halverson – The Skeptical Physick   
  • Susanne Dunlap – Listen to the Wind    
  • Linda Cardillo – Love That Moves the Sun: Vittoria Colonna and Michelangelo Buonarotti    
  • Cryssa Bazos – Severed Knot   
  • Kate Murdoch The Orange Grove   
  • June Hall McCash – Eleanor’s Daughter: A Novel of Marie de Champagne     
  • James Hutson-Wiley – The Sugar Merchant   
  • Alexandrea Weis – Realm     
  • Catherine Mathis – Death in Coimbra     
  • Patricia J. Boomsma – The Way of Glory   
  • A.L. Cleven – 26.2    
  • Anna Belfrage – The Cold Light of Dawn    
  • E. L. Diamond – The Wolf of God    

These titles are in the running for the First Place positions of the 2019 CHAUCER Book Awards for pre-1750s Historical Fiction

Good luck to all as your works move on to the next rounds of judging.

The Finalists and the Semi-Finalists will be recognized at the 2020 Chanticleer Authors Conference and  at the 2019 CIBA banquet and ceremony.

Congratulations to the authors whose works have advanced to the FINALISTS Level of Achievement!

The 16 divisions of the 2019 CIBAs’ Grand Prize Winners, the First Place Category Position Award Winners, and all Semi-Finalists will be announced at the postponed 2020 Chanticleer International Book Awards Annual Gala, now re-scheduled for Saturday, September 5th, 2020.

Join us at the Chanticleer Authors Conference at the luxurious Hotel Bellwether in Bellingham, Wash. Use our link above to register now for this exciting event!



We are now accepting submissions into the 2020 CHAUCER Awards Book Awards. The deadline for submissions is June 30th, 2020. The winners will be announced in April 2021.

Please click here for more information.

Don’t Delay! Enter Today!

As always, please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions, concerns, or suggestions at