Listen to or download this article:

The Journey Book Awards recognize emerging new talent and outstanding works in the genre of Narrative Non-Fiction and Memoir. The Journey Book  Awards is a genre division of Chanticleer International Book Awards and Novel Competitions (CIBAs).

Chanticleer International Book Awards is looking for the best books featuring true stories about adventures, life events, unique experiences, travel, personal journeys, global enlightenment, and more. We will put books about true and inspiring stories to the test and choose the best among them.


These titles have moved forward in the judging rounds from all 2020 JOURNEY entries to the 2020 Journey Book Awards LONG LIST. These entries are now in competition for 2020 Journey Shortlist. The Short Listers will compete for the Semi-Finalists positions. Semi-Finalists will be announced and recognized at the CAC21 banquet and ceremony. The First Place Category Winners, along with the CIBA Division Grand Prize winners, will be selected from the 17 CIBA divisions Semi-Finalists. We will announce the 1st Place Category winners and Grand Prize Division Winners at the CIBAs Banquet and Ceremony on Saturday, April 18th, 2021 at the luxurious Hotel Bellwether in Bellingham, Wash. at the 2021 Chanticleer Authors Conference–whether virtual, hybrid, or in-person.

These titles are in the running for the SHORT LIST of the 2019 JOURNEY Book Awards for Narrative Non-Fiction

Good luck to all as your works move on the next rounds of judging.

  • Terry A. Repak – What You Learn By Living Elsewhere
  • Marilea C. Rabasa – Stepping Stones: A Memoir of Addiction, Loss, and Transformation
  • Gigi Berardi – FoodWISE: A Whole Systems Guide to Sustainable and Delicious Food Choices 
  • Ashley Conner and Cierra Camper – Memoirs of Michael: The Hurricane Project
  • Christine Ristaino – All the Silent Spaces
  • Linda Bledsoe – Rhea and Jeremiah Zeus: An Appalachian Family’s Story of Drugs and Abuse
  • Leslie Bains – Let’s Take A Hike: 7 Family-Friendly Trails of Nantucket
  • Susan E Casey – Rock On: Mining for Joy in the Deep River of Sibling Grief
  • Patricia Eagle – Being Mean–A Memoir of Sexual Abuse and Survival
  • Annerose D. Watts – Blue Plate Journey
  • Susan E. Greisen – In Search of Pink Flamingos: A Woman’s Quest for Forgiveness & Unconditional Love
  • Carole Bumpus – Searching for Family and Traditions at the French Table, Book One, Savoring the Olde Ways Series
  • Janice Morgan – Suspended Sentence
  • Esta G. Bernstein – Changing Horses
  • Mendek Rubin & Myra Goodman – Quest for Eternal Sunshine
  • Katherine Snow Smith – Rules for the Southern Rulebreaker, Missteps and Lessons Learned
  • Marianne Ingheim – Out of Love: Finding Your Way Back to Self-Compassion
  • Cerridwen Fallingstar – Broth from the Cauldron; A Wisdom Journey through Everyday Magic
  • Sharon Dukett – No Rules
  • Judy Gaman – Love, Life, and Lucille
  • Laila Tarraf – Strong Like Water: Lessons Learned from Leading with Love
  • Keturah Kendrick – No Thanks: Black, Female, And Living in the Martyr-Free Zone
  • Patricia Martin Holt – EMPOWER A REFUGEE, Peace of Thread and the Background Humanity Movement
  • David Crow – The Pale-Faced Lie: A True Story
  • Evelyn Kohl LaTorre – Between Inca Walls
  • Cindy Rasicot – Finding Venerable Mother: A Daughter’s Spiritual Quest to Thailand
  • Christine Nicolette-Gonzalez – My Mother’s Curse: A Journey Beyond Childhood Trauma
  • Nan Sanders Pokerwinski – Mango Rash: Coming of Age in the Land of Frangipani and Fanta
  • Scott Hunter – And the Monkey Lets Go: Memoirs Through Illusion and Doubt
  • Mary Charity Kruger Stein – Fatherless, Fearless, Female: A Memoir
  • Ilene English – Hippie Chick
  • Bill Pullen – It Started at The Savoy
  • Deborah Tobola – Hummingbird in Underworld: Teaching in a Men’s Prison
  • Amy Byer Shainman – Resurrection Lily: The BRCA Gene, Hereditary Cancer & Lifesaving Whispers from the Grandmother I Never Knew
  • Tamra McAnally Bolton – A Blessed Life: One World War II Seabee’s Story
  • Suzanne Kamata – Squeaky Wheels: Travels with My Daughter by Train, Plane, Metro, Tuk-tuk and Wheelchair
  • T.D. Arkenberg – Trials & Truffles: Expats in Brussels
  • Steve Mariotti – Goodbye Homeboy
  • Steve Rochinski – A Man of His Time: Secrets from a Halfway World
  • Kris Newby – BITTEN: The Secret History of Lyme Disease and Biological Weapons
  • Tiffani Goff – Loving Tiara
  • Frank Ball – Ball of Yarns
  • Kathleen Pooler – Just the Way He Walked: A Mother’s Story of Healing and Hope
  • Julie Tate Libby – The Good Way, a Himalayan Journey
  • Isaac Alexis M.D. – The Seductive Pink Crystal
  • Michael M. Van Ness – General In Command: The Life of Major General John B. Anderson, World War II
  • Lilly A Gwilliam – Generations of Motherhood: A Changing Story
  • Renee Hodges – Saving Bobby: Heroes and Heroin in One Small Community
  • Ted Neill – Two Years of Wonder
  • Jennifer B. Monahan – Where To? How I Shed My Baggage and Learned to Live Free
  • Karen Keilt – The Parrot’s Perch
  • Brant Vickers – Chucky’s in Tucson
  • Deborah Burns – Saturday’s Child
  • Betty Theiler – Beyond Borders
  • Stefanie Naumann – How Languages Saved Me: A Polish Story of Survival
  • Jules Hannaford – Fool Me Twice
  • Lydia Ola Taiwo – A Broken Childhood: How To Overcome Abuse: A Recovery Guide
  • Miguel A. Aguilo – Pencils in the Hand of God: Two Heavenly Adoption Stories

Who will be awarded the 2020 Journey Book Awards Grand Prize? Stay tuned! 


Congratulations to John Hoyte whose work  Persistence of Light  took home the Grand Prize for the 2019 JOURNEY Book Awards

John Hoyte author of The Persistence of Light, 2019 Journey Grand Prize Winner

“When Gandalf said to Frodo, ‘All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.” (J.R.R. Tolkien), surely John Hoyte was listening. Starting early and without choice, he and his siblings are interned in a Japanese prison camp, afterwards, he follows along Hannibal’s elephant trail over the French Alps. .” – Chanticleer Reviews

Here is the link to the 2019 Journey Book Award Winners!

Our next Chanticleer International Book Awards Ceremony will be held on Sunday, April 18th, 2021, for the 2020 CIBA winners. Enter your book or manuscript in a contest today!

We are now accepting entries into the 2021 Journey Book Awards, a division of the Chanticleer International Book Awards.

As always, please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions, concerns, or suggestions at