Listen to or download this article:

Post 1750s Historical Fiction AwardWe are excited and honored to officially announce the Grand Prize Winner and the First Place Category Winners for the 2018 GOETHE Book Awards at the annual Chanticleer Authors Conference and the 2018 Chanticleer International Book Awards ceremony. This year’s ceremony and banquet were held on Saturday, April 27th, 2019 at the Hotel Bellwether by beautiful Bellingham Bay, Wash.

We want to thank all of those who entered and participated in the  2018 Goethe Book Awards for post-1750s Historical Fiction, a division of the Chanticleer International Book Awards.

Peter Greene, the author of Paladin’s War, the Grand Prize Winner of the 2017  Book Awards for Goethe Historical  Fiction (CIBAs),  announced the 2018 Goethe Award Winners at the Chanticleer International Book Awards Banquet and Ceremony.

 PublishDrive and Hindenburg Systems awarded additional prizes to the 2018 Goethe Book Award winners. Thank you!

Congratulations to the 2018 GOETHE Book Awards for post-1750s Historical Fiction First in Category Winners

  • The Muse of Fire by Carol M. Cram
  • Mist-chi-mas: A Novel of Captivity by J.L. Oakley
  • The River by Starlight by Ellen Notbohm
  • Anna’s Home by Rosalind Spitzer
  • None of Us the Same by Jeffrey K. Walker
  • Behind the Scarlet Letter by Patricia Suprenant
  • The Pear Tree by K. M. Sandrick         

And now for the 2018 GOETHE Book Awards  GRAND PRIZE WINNER for Post-1750s Historical Fiction

The Lost Years of Billy Battles by Ronald E. Yates took home the Goethe Grand Prize Ribbon




An email will go out to all First Place Category Winners and Grand Prize Winners with more information, the timing of awarded reviews, links to digital badges, and more before May 31st, 2019 (approximately four weeks after the awards ceremony). Please look for it in your email inbox.

When we receive the digital photographs from the Official CAC19 professional photographer, Dwayne Rogge of Photo Treehouse, we will post the photographs of GOETHE award winners on this page.

Click here for the link to the  GOETHE Semi-Finalists.

This post will be updated with photos and more information. Please do visit it again!

The deadline for submissions into the 2019 GOETHE Book Awards is June 30, 2019 Midnight (PST).

Our next Chanticleer International Book Awards Ceremony will be held on Saturday, April 18th, 2020, for the 2019 CIBA winners.

 Enter your book or manuscript in a contest today!

As always, please contact me directly at with any questions, concerns, or suggestions.