Listen to or download this article:

Cygnus Award for Science Fiction

The Cygnus Book Awards recognize emerging new talent and outstanding works in the genre of Science Fiction, Steampunk, Alternative History, and Speculative Fiction. The Cygnus Awards is a genre division of Chanticleer International Book Awards (The CIBAs).

Chanticleer International Book Awards is looking for the best books featuring space, time travel, life on other planets, parallel universes, alternate reality, and all the science, technology, major social or environmental changes of the future that author imaginations can dream up for the CYGNUS Book Awards division. Hard Science Fiction, Soft Science Fiction, Apocalyptic Fiction, Cyberpunk, Time Travel, Genetic Modification, Aliens, Super Humans, Interplanetary Travel, and Settlers on the Galactic Frontier, Dystopian, our judges from across North America and the U.K. will put them to the test and choose the best among them.

Get your Sci-fi on

 enter the CYGNUS AWARDS today!

Who will receive a beautiful CIBA  CYGNUS Blue Ribbon? 

Which CYGNUS AWARD winner will receive the next big publishing contract or land a top agent…? 

Bennett Coles CYGNUS Grand Prize for VIRTUES of WAR 

Harper Collins Voyager has picked up CYGNUS Grand Prize Winner Bennett R. Coles for his latest work Winds of Marque.

Titan U.K. picked up his CYGNUS award-winning Virtues of War and then contracted for two more books in his series: Ghosts of War and March of War.

Virtues of War


Will it be you? 

THE DEADLINE TO ENTER THE 2020 CYGNUS Novel Writing Competitions is April 30, 2020.



Hall of Fame

2018 Grand Prize Winner: 

The Korpes File by J.I Rogers took home the 2018 CYGNUS Book Awards for Science Fiction Grand Prize Blue Ribbon.




2018 First in Category Winners:

  • The Fortune Follies by Catori Sarmiento
  • It Takes Death to Reach a Star by Stu Jones & Gareth Worthington
  • Solar Reboot by Matthew D. Hunt
  • Apex Five by Sarah Katz
  • The One Apart: A Novel by Justine Avery
  • The Selah Branch by Ted Neill   

2017 Grand Prize Cygnus Winner: 

The Future’s Dark Past by John Yarrow




2017 Cygnus Book Awards for Science Fiction First in Category Winners



2016 Grand Prize Cygnus Winner:


OVER by Sean Curley


2016 Cygnus Book Awards for Science Fiction First in Category Winners

2015 Grand Prize Cygnus Winner:

The Great Symmetry by James Wells

2015 Cygnus Book Awards for Science Fiction First in Category Winners

2014 Cygnus Grand Prize Winner:

Enemy of Existence by Yuan Jur

Citadel 7, Earth’s Secret: Enemy of Existence by Yuan Jur

2014 Cygnus Book Awards for Science Fiction First in Category Winners:

2013 Grand Prize Cygnus Winner:

Bennett R. ColesVirtues of War

2013 First Place Category Winners for the Cygnus Awards are:

  • The Lotus Effect by Bridget Ladd
  • Celia’s Heaven by Nancy Canyon
  • Artemis Rising by Cheri Lasota
  • The Maiden Voyage of the Mary Ann by Linda Reed
  • Ragnarok: Demon Seed by Ea Bishop



      Don’t delay. Enter today! 

      Chanticleer Book Reviews & Media, L.L.C.  retains the right to not declare “default winners.” Winning works are decided upon merit only. Please visit our Contest Details page for more information about our writing contest guidelines.

      CBR’s rigorous writing competition standards are why literary agencies seek out our winning manuscripts and self-published novels. Our high standards are also why our reviews are trusted among booksellers and book distributors.

      Please do not hesitate to contact about any questions, concerns, or suggestions about the Chanticleer International Book Awards. Your input and suggestions are important to us.

      Click here for more information about the Chanticleer Book Reviews International Book Awards.