“THE BOREALIS GENOME” by Thomas P. Wise and Nancy Wise

2016-12-17T12:15:39-08:00By |

When technology, genetics, biology, and the quest for eternal life combine, what could possibly go wrong? Quite a bit, it turns out. "The Borealis Genome" takes on a unique perspective of the zombie vs. humans’ tale. For it is a tale of the ancient quest for eternal life, but one using the latest in high-tech, state-of-the-art scientific research that creates its own type of Black Death.

An Editorial Review of “The Hourglass” by Sharon Struth

2016-12-17T12:15:40-08:00By |

Best-selling author CJ pens a dark thriller called "The Hourglass" shortly after his wife's death in a car accident that leaves CJ guilt ridden for reasons that are unclear. He hires Brenda McAllister, a self-help author and a relationship counselor as a consultant on the advice of his publisher so he can finish his novel. The two instantly share a mutual, but decidely unwanted attraction. However, Brenda soon realizes that CJ's new novel may be a reflection of his personal demons...and she isn't without her own demons herself.

An Editorial Review of “Double or Nothing” by Meg Mims

2016-12-17T12:15:42-08:00By |

The mystery is set during the rough and tumble California mining days of 1869. Meg Mims vividly brings these times to life with her accurate historical research and her clear and striking imagery of bustling towns, dangerous quicksilver mines, and rugged landscapes. An entertaining Western mystery read with just the right amount of romance.

The Somerset Awards for Literary & Mainstream Fiction: First in Category Winners

2016-12-17T12:15:42-08:00By |

The Somerset Awards recognize emerging new talent and outstanding works in the genre of Contemporary, Mainstream, and Literary Fiction; a division of Chanticleer Writing Competitions. This contest division is named after W. Somerset Maugham (1874- 1965), author of "The Moon and Sixpence," "Of Human Bondage," "Razor’s Edge," and other literary masterpieces. Maugham was trained and qualified as a medical doctor. He served in the Red Cross ambulatory corps in WWI, then was recruited in the British Secret Service.

The Official List of the Somerset Awards 2013 Finalists

2016-12-17T12:15:44-08:00By |

The Somerset Awards is a division of Chanticleer Blue Ribbon Writing Competitions. The contest division is named after W. Somerset Maugham, author of "The Moon and Sixpence," "Of Human Bondage," "Razor's Edge," and other literary masterpieces. This is the Official List of Finalists whose titles made it to the short list of the 2013 Somerset Awards. They will compete for the six First in Category positions.

An Editorial Review of “Fatal Induction” by Bernadette Pajer

2014-03-28T18:37:50-07:00By |

"Fatal Induction" is a captivating, classic mystery featuring Professor Bradshaw that takes place in the time of Tesla and Edison in the burgeoning city of Seattle. Pajer's vivid writing takes readers to this exciting time that is in the crossroads of scientific investigation and innovation, when automobiles and horse drawn carts compete for the same streets, and the United States reels with political unrest and social upheaval. Readers will warm to the curmudgeonly and reserved professor who has a heart of gold and a penchant for investigation.

An Editorial Review of “Unbroke Horses” by D. B. Jackson

2014-03-27T17:25:33-07:00By |

It is a powerful, un-blinking telling of the hard-fought war between the bravery of one who refuses to give up against the cunning cruelty of a malevolent trio of ruthless men. D. B. Jackson’s "Unbroke Horses" has carefully chiseled characters and is written with unflinching clarity in short, powerful chapters dominated by taut dialogue and hard hitting action. If you’re a Cormac McCarthy fan who appreciates western literary thrillers, this masterfully written novel is a must-read.