Please join us in congratulating and (reading) these top works in this classic American genre—the Western.  

Western Pioneeer Civil War Fiction AwardChanticleer Book Reviews is looking for the best books featuring cowboys, the wild west, pioneering, civil war, early North American History, and the Contemporary West! Submit your works today and we will put them to the test and choose the best among them in the LARAMIE BOOK AWARDS, a division of the Chanticleer International Book Awards (CIBA). 

Michelle Rene’s HOUR GLASS  took home the Laramie Grand Prize Ribbon for 2017 and the OVERALL Grand Prize Ribbon for the Chanticleer Int’l Book Awards

CIBA Overall Grand Prize Winner and Laramie Grand Prize, Michelle Rene

Click on the cover for the Amazon link.

Click on the Hour Glass book to order from Amazon

LARAMIE BOOK AWARD WINNERS for 2017, a division of the CIBA.

LARAMIE BOOK AWARDS Winners T.K. Conklin, Nick K Adams, J.L. Oakley, Michelle Rene, Kiki Watkins

The 2017 books have all won a Chanticleer Book Reviews package!

  • Grasshoppers at Dusk by Kiki Watkins
  • Mist-chi-mus: A Novel of Captivity by J.L. Oakley
  • Sacrificial Lions by John Simons/David Simons
  • The Hour Glass by Michelle Rene ***LARAMIE GRAND PRIZE WINNER*** and OVERALL BEST BOOK Chanticleer Reviews
  • Away at War: A Civil War Story of the Family Left Behind by Nick K. Adams
  • Threads of Passion by T.K. Conklin
  • Desertion by Michael Aloysius O’Reilly
  • Death in the Black Patch by Bruce Wilson      

Western Pioneeer Civil War Fiction AwardJacquie Roger’s HOT WORK IN FRY PAN GULCH: Honey Beaulieu Man Hunter Series took home the 2016 Laramie Grand Prize. Click on the cover for the Amazon link:

Laramie Grand Prize – JACQUIE ROGERS

First Place Category Winners for 2016 are: 

Click on the hyperlinks to read their Chanticleer awarded reviews

Western Pioneeer Civil War Fiction Award

The Laramie Grand Prize Winner for 2015 was WIDOW: Flats Junction Series by Sara Dahmen (Originally titled Doctor Kinney’s Housekeeper)

Sara Dahmen awarded Laramie Grand Prize for DR. KINNEY’S HOUSEKEEPER — now WIDOW 1881 (Book One of the Flats Junction Series)

WIDOW: Flats Junction, Book One – Click on the cover for the link to Amazon

The Laramie Grand Prize Winner for 2014 was NOT ON MY MOUNTAIN by Jared McVay


Jared McVay the Laramie Grand Prize Winner

Dale B. Jackson’s UNBROKE HORSES was awarded the 2013 Laramie Grand Prize

  • Mystery:  Double or Nothing by Meg Mims
  • Historical Fiction:  Because of the Camels by Brenda Blair
  • Civil War:  Ford at Valverde by Anita Melillo (ms)
  • Prairie Pioneer:  They Rode Good Horses by Dale B. Jackson (ms)
  • Literary Western:  Unbroke Horses by Dale B. Jackson
  • First Novel:  Confessions of  a Gunfighter by Tell Cotten (ms)
  • Best Manuscript: Lick Creek by Deborah Lincoln (ms)

Janet K. Shawgo’s LOOK FOR ME was awarded the 2012 Laramie Book Awards Grand Prize.

Who will win the LARAMIE Book Awards Blue Ribbons for 2018?

The judging rounds will commence in August! Submit your works today!

The last day for submissions into the 2018 Laramie Book Awards is July 31, 2018.

Click here for more information and submission form! 

Don’t Delay! Enter Today!